Bakin’ With Bacon and The King!

Standard

Hello Cooking Friends!   It’s me – Your King – here with another baconized recipe you will LOVE!

Fabulous Bacon Corn Chowder (in a crockpot!)

Ingredients

1 lb. small red potatoes cut into 1-inch cubes
1/2 cup chopped onion
2 bags (12 oz each) frozen whole kernel corn
3 cups chicken broth
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground pepper
2 cups half-and-half
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1/2 lb bacon, crisply cooked, crumbled

Steps

1  In 3 1/2- to 4-quart slow cooker, mix potatoes, onion, corn, broth, salt and pepper.
2  Cover; cook on High heat setting 3 to 4 hours or until potatoes are tender.
3  In small bowl, beat half-and-half and cornstarch with whisk until smooth. Stir half-and-half mixture and bacon into mixture in slow-cooker. Cover; cook 10 to 15 minutes longer or until slightly thickened.

Do I have to tell you how happy this will make your tummy?   I’ll let Pooh tell you!

My Mom makes all kinds of chowders…………….her personal fave is what she calls “Seafood Chowder” – it’s got clams, oysters, cod filets, shrimp, potatoes, corn, milk AND half-n-half and pinches of this that and the other.   All I know is when she’s making it Dad won’t stay out of the kitchen.    Chowders are great for cool nights or days……….but my Mom says they’re delicious any old time.    This one sure is – just ask POOH!

“yawn”…..well thanks to my sampling that chowder while I made it for you, I’m tired and so I’m going to take a royal nap.    Happy Saturday and Happy Baking/Cooking!!!

Your King – Teddy

46 responses »

  1. Sometimes there are things in your recipes that I’ve never heard of. I think it would be an adventure to wander round one of your supermarkets!

    Like

  2. I agree with Clowie. So many things have different names in the UK. I just googled corn starch to see if it is the same as our cornflour. It said no and that cornflour is yellow whereas corn starch is white and said how they were both produced. Our cornflour is in fact white not yellow so I googled US corn starch versus UK cornflour and surprise, they are the same thing.
    Can you tell I have got too much time on my hands during lockdown!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my- this made dad reminisce about his good old days working in restaurants, cooking up big old pots of New England Clam Chowder, corn chowder, shrimp and lobster bisque, and so many more soups and such. Unfortunately, he isn’t allowed to eat this kind of stuff any more. Sucks to be him.

    Like

  4. Happy Caturday!!! That chowder looks very delicious and it’s going to make us pull the crockpot out after a long time. We had some bacon this morning with our eggs. Thanks for the share. Have a wonderful rest of your weekend.

    Like

I wanna know what YOU've got to say!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.