Friday Filling In AND Shopping!

Standard

Let’s Do Some Filling In!!

Today is Friday which means BLOG HOP time with our co-hosts Ellen of 15andMeowing and Annie of McGuffy’s Reader with their “fill in the sentence” Hop.    What a great way to get to know your friends right?    At my house though sometimes Mom fills in the sentences, sometimes I do, and sometimes we BOTH do…………today Mom said I could do it ALL BY MYSELF!

If you’d like to join in the fun – click the badge above and go to Annie’s blog – use the LINKY tool she provides and WHAM BAM HOWDY SAM you’re part of the Hop……………My fill-ins are in RED today.

1.The flu shot is one shot that I do NOT have to have since I’m a CAT – besides I get plenty of other shots because I AM a cat so it balances out!.

2. I think everyone should take their pet for a walk at least once daily.

3. I (almost) always wait for a passer by to ask them to put me on the bathroom counter for a sink drink, because I won’t go up on the counter myself.

4. I (almost) never  eat wet cat food because apparently wherever I lived my first year of life didn’t feed it to me so I only like kibble stuff.

 

About #4 above – my Mom has tried every possible type of wet food that there is and I absolutely won’t go beyond one or two licks of ANY OF IT.    Wherever I was before I was adopted they apparently only gave me water from a faucet and only gave me kibble to eat.    Mom has tried now for a year to get me to change those habits but I’m being ONE STUBBORN GUY!

I won’t eat wet PERIOD!

No that’s not a photo of me – I’m much cuter (!) – but I am very stubborn.     BUT – so is my Mom so I’m sure the “FOOD WARS” will continue.    She would rather I eat raw or wet and knowing her, this is a battle that could go on for a LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOG time!

I love ya Mom but I EATS WHAT I EATS and THAT’S ALL THAT I EATS!!!!

 

Happy Friday everybody!    Tomorrow I’ll be cooking up some kind of bacon THING in my Castle Kitchen at Castle Baconia………..so I hope to see you then!

Now – let’s SHOP for Bacon’s Shopping Around The World Hop!

Even though tomorrow is my bacon day – TODAY is SHOPPING AROUND THE WORLD with our friend Bacon so you won’t have to wait until tomorrow to get a recipe from me!!

Each month Bacon gives us a chance to share a recipe for something different – this month happens that he chose SANDWICHES as the subject of our recipe/information exchange and I am the KING of SAMMMICHES.    Of course I HAD to use bacon in my recipe contribution this month – but at least it’s a little bit different from the usual…………may I present:

Teddy’s Bacon, Cheese and Jalapeno Grilled Sandwich

Now the idea is that we share a recipe, give ingredients AND the costs of said ingredients so all of us will know what each other pays for the same stuff – wherever we might live!    That makes it more fun……!

Ingredients

8 slices of bacon (Harris Teeter Smoked Bacon, 16 0z. $4.49)

1/2 jalapeño chile, finely chopped ($.29 each)

1/4 cup butter, softened  (we had already)

8 slices country-style bread (Harris Teeter “Old Fashioned” bread – $.99)

12 oz sharp Cheddar cheese, sliced  (Cabot EXTRA sharp cheddar cheese 8 oz. $3.99)

This recipe is for making FOUR sandwiches but obviously you just “tailor” it to your needs – I personally could eat all four of these myself without sharing.   HAHAHAHAHA

To make the sandwiches all you do is cook bacon over medium-high heat until crisp. Remove from skillet to paper towel. Add chile to bacon drippings in skillet; cook and stir 1 to 2 minutes. Place chile on paper towel.    Then just spread butter on both sides of each slice of bread. Top each of 4 bread slices with layer of cheese, chopped chile, 2 slices of bacon and another layer of cheese. Cover each with second slice of bread.   To finish the sandwiches up, heat 12-inch nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Cook sandwiches until bread is browned and cheese begins to melt. Turn sandwiches; cook until cheese is completely melted.

Talk about yummy – I take care of eating some extra bacon while Mom and Dad eat the sandwiches and sometimes have a cup of tomato soup with them………….everyone wins!!!!

Thanks Bacon for letting us all share prices, ingredients and recipes every month.  I can’t wait to see what our project is next month!

Lotsa Love, Teddy

Gettin’ Ready for Tomorrow!!!!

 

59 responses »

  1. Teddy how about eating that tasty sandwich efurry day? it’s not wet but also not dry, so I think it is perfect ;o) my dad loves eggs-tra shar cheddar…the taste is fabulous and it can spice up any sandwich… literally ;O)))

    Like

  2. Wow, Teddy, that sandwich sounds so tempting! We have no bacon, no bread and no cheese in our den anymore…no matter how yummy…maybe good for the peeps but hey, I,Pipo and those pups I put up with would love them a morsel like that!
    I mostly only eat kibbles too…so I get kibble that is grain free from Chewy, cause it is not available in stores…I have slimmed down on it too. Old manpup, MJF gets freeze dried raw, and sometimes when he feels good, he will eat a lot of that.

    Like

    • Good luck with that Summer….I know you get to go outside for a walk in your totally cool yard SOMETIMES but at least you get to have “expeditions” frequently when you’re doing your therapy work. I have to whine at the front door in order to get it to magically open but Mom DOES enjoy taking me out for a yard cruise – just not in this COLD WEATHER!

      Love, Teddy

      Like

  3. I totally agree with you about the walks!

    I have often been called stubborn. I prefer to think of myself as determined, as it doesn’t have the same negative connotations! My bipeds can be pretty stubborn, so I know what that’s like. 🙂

    Like

  4. Great answers, Teddy! Glad that you got a chance to fill in questions all by yourself for a change! And grilled cheese is my mom’s very favorite sandwich, but she’s not a jalapeno purrson..
    Love, Sundae

    Like

  5. I gots the giggles when I read the Fill-ins you did Teddy because I kept thinking it was your Mom filling in and I thought how odd someBODY is picking up Pam and putting her on the bathroom counter for a sink drink! You really should eat wet food, Teddy. I get it though, no matter how hard we tried the Z Cat would not eat wet food.You done good with your Fill-ins, ButterBean!
    That grilled sandwich will be in the skillet before the day is over! CH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Good Morning, Vir-GIN-i-A!

    Like

    • Oh I’m glad you’re gonna give that SAMMMMICH a try. About the sink drink – nobody who doesn’t own a CRANE would be able to put my Mom up on the sink counter. HAHAHA (oops – sorry Mom) I would like to do what Mom wants which is to eat canned food but so far every thing she’s tried on me is a NO GO. I like that hard and crunchy kibble stuff (which our vet told my Mom was probably why Sammy’s teeth were PERFECT his whole life – they never had to be cleaned once)…….he said that crunchy stuff just automatically removes tartar. I like the idea of no toofie cleanings. HOWEVER, that doesn’t work for everyone…..my Mom will continue to try wet stuff out on me I’m sure. But one thing I know ABSOLUTEY FOR SURE is that she will never EVER have a sink drink. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

      Hugs, Teddy Bean

      Like

  6. Teddy, lets think about this! Never gonna eat wet fuds? You may reconsider one day. Tell you what, hop on in the tunnel and come on over. I will share my breakfast with you. I think you may like it. Of course our whiskers will be entangled as we are feasting but that adds an air of…intrigue? Romance?
    XO
    Katie Isabella

    Like

    • Oh Katie you temptress (Mom told me that word because I don’t know about that kinda stuff yet since I’m just a little kid!). I honestly will continue to try the stuff Mom gives me and who knows – maybe she can WEAN me off the dry stuff (which will probably be as successful as her trying to WEAN my Dad off beer….hahahaha).

      Love and Hugs, Teddy Bean

      Like

  7. Teddy, that sandwich looks really good. You should eat wet food, but I had a kitty that wouldn’t eat it either so I understand your Mom’s struggle.

    Like

  8. Thank you for these great fill-in answers Teddy. Are you sure you don’t mean that everyone should take their pet for 3 or 4 walks a day 🙂 KaTwo is just like you with the canned food, won’t touch it. I hope you will find one you like though Teddy. And the sandwich looks great, although, I would leave out the pepper 🙂 Have a great weekend! XO

    Like

    • Oh yes indeed – 3 or 4 walks a day would suit me JUST FINE although I’d have to alter my napping schedule but I think I could manage that! I just love being outside – sometimes I don’t even move off the front porch – I just lie there and take in the air and sights. HAPPY WEEKEND! Mom says to tell you that Meade is having an “accessories” sale on their website. Just FYI of course……….. tee hee

      Love, Teddy

      Like

  9. Wow! I cannot keep my cats off of the bathroom sink! They are obsessed with drinking there, especially right from the faucet. Clyde waves his paw when he does it. Ha!

    Can you see me walking my six cats and two dogs, too? Now, that would make a great capture!

    The cats here only eat kibble, except for Chloe Jo. She eats wet and dry because it is prescription. Her health is so precarious, but stable right now! Yea!

    I love you guys…and Mom, too! HUGS!

    Like

    • Teddy will NOT jump up on the cabinets so I ASSUME he was never allowed to do that. So bless his heart he just waits for someone to come by then asks very sweetly. A couple of times I can think of he has come to find me wherever I am and “squeaked” at me and I KNOW he wants water – so I follow him and he takes me to one of the bathrooms. I can’t imagine walking six cats and two dogs that’s for sure!!! I know there are some very good brands of kibble that don’t have a lot of grain in them so I feel OK about Teddy eating that….but he doesn’t really LIKE that kind as much as regular friskies or meow mix dry. Well, we do what we can right?

      Love you toooooooooooooooooooooo!
      Love, Pam (with Teddy’s snoopervision)

      Like

  10. bacon, sharp cheddar cheese, jalapeno = thats a sandwich!!! Mom will has some avocado with that sammich too. MOL. Not to worry about not eating wet foods. Nana’s cat won’t eat dat neether. she will only eat kitten chow and her am 14 years old! -Purrz from Chiquita helping mom blog today cause her am tire from catching my family and getting them to surgeries yesfurday. and my mama am going to haz babies agin.

    Like

  11. OOOoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo my word I fainted….at #4….I cannot imagine life w/o stinky Fancy Feast. I crave it almost as much as mom does chocolate
    My niece Mia and nephew Frisco don’t eat it either. They are both rescues so sis has no clue what they ate before but she cannot stand the stinky goodness of canned food.MOL she is a wuss
    Hugs madi your bfff

    Like

    • Angel Sammy LOVED his fancy feast and his baby food…..he had only EVER eaten wet stuff and was adopted when he was just weeks old so I understand why kibble was not on his “faves” list. As for me – I guess that’s all I ever had……..Mom will keep trying different things out on me though – I am her “living experiment” !!! HAHAHA

      Love, Teddy

      Like

  12. Teddy dude, your fill-ins today are pawesome and that sammich looks like its the best sammich effur effur created, we’ll be sending the P.A. out post haste to get the ingredients! MOL

    NOM NOM NOM NOM NOM NOM

    Big hugs

    Basil & Co xox

    Like

  13. Well, it seems that doggies do get the flu so we have to have that darn shot. Actually it is a two part one, weeks apart. But since we go to the groomer and to the boarding kennel, Mom says it is best to be on the safe side.

    We like to walk daily too. Mom is pretty good about that too as long as it isn’t icy, dark, or snow-covered out there. She doesn’t want to risk falling. We tell her to just get a sled and we will pull her around:)

    Woos – Lightning, Misty, and Timber

    Like

    • You all should have shots because that doggy flu is dangerous….I’m glad your Mommy takes such super duper care of you three and makes sure even though shots aren’t fun that you HAVE them when you need them. Walking is fun isn’t it? I should think it’s more of a challenge with three pups to take a walk than it is with one giant sized kitty….it’s just FUN! A sled? Oh boy – I have a sled – Angel Sammy left his behind for me.

      Love, Teddy

      Like

  14. I was the opposite of you Teddy when I came to live with mom, Kali and dad. I only had been fed wet food and I didn’t know what to do with the dry. I played hockey with it and hid it under the stove and fridge. Then Kali started eating it so I tried it. Not bad tasting stuff. I know now why you like it. I actually prefer it to some of the swill mom tries to pass off as wet food.

    Ya, we get enough shots, we don’t need another one.

    Loves,

    Shoko and Kali

    Like

    • Some of that wet stuff is gross – Mom says if it tastes like it smells, no wonder I won’t eat it….HAHAHA….but I know her – she will continue to try out stuff on me and I’ll continue to look at her like she’s nuts and walk away. Shots? YUCK!

      Hugs, Teddy

      Like

  15. OMC We luv, luv, luv Cabot sharp cheese. They don’t sell it in our grocery store, only at the Walmart. But, mommy can’t affurd it, so we haven’t had it in a long time. MOL Me was a kibble only girl too, till me got sick. Let’s just say mommy has a stronger will than me’s stomach. MOL She fed me freeze dried raw, dry with some probiotics sprinkled over the top. She gradually started addin’ water to it and now me can’t ‘magine eatin’ dry kibble. That sounds so yucky. Good luck. Big hugs

    Luv ya’

    Dezi and Raena

    Like

  16. I am so glad that kitties don’t get the flu, with six in the house it would be hard to keep them from passing it on to each other.

    It is not safe to walk pets outside where I live in the country because there are lots of dogs roaming free, and there are coyotes too! We do have a kitty stroller though and can take them out to enjoy the sights and smells, and we are going to build a catio for them this summer! 🙂

    I think it might be a blessing if you don’t jump up on the sink! Mine are very active and love to jump up on counters and even the high kitchen cabinets where they can keep an eye on everyone below! 🙂

    I really think that a lot of canned cat food doesn’t taste that good to cats, and the good kinds are very expensive. My furkids eat good quality dry food, as much as they want, and they also get a little fresh tuna or freshly cooked chicken each day. They love it and it’s good for them! They also get treats in the morning first thing, and they are lined up and waiting for them when I open the bedroom door to come out. 🙂

    Josie Two Shoes ~ Friendly Fill-Ins

    Like

    • Oh yes you are right to not take your pets for a walk with those predators around…..we have the occasional fox but they don’t come near us. I’m on a harness and short leash when I go out so only a couple of steps from Mom or Dad. I’d love to have a catio – that’s a wonderful idea so your kids can enjoy outside while being IN SAFETY! Mom hopes to find a wet food I’ll eat but I don’t like people food at all – not even chicken or tuna. Yes I’m picky and Mom doesn’t know WHY. Your kitties sound like they are VERY happy with their food though if they’re lined up and ready to start the day when you get up in the morning!

      Hugs, Teddy

      Like

  17. Our dad would love those sammiches and has a freezer full of every kind of pepper you can imagine. He grows bunches every summer. Good job on the Fill-Ins, Teddy. Too bad you won’t eat stinky goodness. It is nommy. We are certain your mom will continue to ry to get you to eat it. Sending you and your mom and dad lots of love. XOCK, angel Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, angel Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth, Calista Jo, Cooper Murphy and Sawyer

    Like

    • Mom says I’m quite a trooper when it comes to her experiments with foodables and ME. I at least take a lick or two of everything she tries – but I will then begin to bury it in the floor (!) or give her THE LOOK so we all get the message that it’s a no go. One of these days maybe I’ll cooperate?!?!?!

      Love, Teddy

      Like

I wanna know what YOU've got to say!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.