Following The Sun…..

Standard
Ahh....this spot will be sunny for AT LEAST another hour!

On a chilly winter day, a sunny stair feels just yummy!

Following the sun……we all do it don’t we?!  Move from one window to the next or one piece of furniture to the next – even one spot on the rug to the next – – all so we can enjoy a few minutes in the sun.  Especially in the winter when it’s too cold to go outside.  Inside sunbathing is the way to go.

I guess on the stairs has always been one of my favorite places.  When I was a kitten I was too little to climb the stairs – I was pretty small when my parents adopted me.  But I soon learned how and before you know it I was flying all over the place up/down/up/down – stairs were so cool – especially with carpet on them!  Sometimes my legs would get ahead of me though and I’d wind up rolling down the last few stairs.  That wasn’t so bad unless it happened on the basement stairs where there IS no soft carpet!!

Another good sunny spot is in the library and yet another is on the guest room bed.  After twelve years I’ve learned exactly what time of day to be in a certain spot so I can enjoy the sun.  So I have to wonder what it will be like if we move to a new house?  I know my parents want to do that this year – this is the only house I’ve ever lived in and I know it so well……I have to wonder just how long it will take me to get all my “new favorite spots” lined up.  Probably not too long…….I think we cats have SUN RADAR – we just know these things don’t we? 

Do you have a favorite spot to catch the sun? 

Happy Saturday…………….

Sammy the Sun Worshipper

12 responses »

  1. Yes indeed, Sam, follow the sun is the only way for a dignified cat such as yourself to go. The new place will be fun for you to explore, although I imagine you will miss the only home you’ve ever had.

    Like

    • Hi Uncle Jerry…..I guess we all have to adapt to changes in our lives don’t we! I’ll probably freak out at first but before you know it, a new house and all its fun spots to explore will get me out of the “new territory funk” !!

      Hugs, Sam

      Like

  2. Oh, Sammy, it won’t take you long to find those sun spots.

    My morning spot is on my window seat, and the afternoon one is beside the dining room table. I have ’em all scoped out!
    Keep following the sun, Sammy!
    Love, Sundae

    Like

    • Hi Sundae! Happy Saturday……I know you have a wonderful fuzzy window seat to spy outside from and a GREAT view of the water and the ducks too. My window seat is in the shade but it’s neat big trees so I can watch the birds. Hope you have a nice SUNNY day……

      Love, Sam

      Like

  3. Aloha Sammy! How fantastic that you might get a new house in 2012! Think about how exciting it will be to explore every nook and cranny until you find the perfect sunny, cozy nap spots. And maybe the new house will be less work for you – it sounds like you have a lot of space to patrol now. You are getting a little older, big guy, so maybe its a good time to downsize a little so you can relax more.

    Like

    • Hi Pedro. You’re right of course – a new house means new adventures. I’m not sure WHEN we’ll actually move but I do know my parents want to downsize this year. I’ll be ready. Won’t take me long to pack. As long as we have some sun coming through the windows I’ll be a happy guy…oh, and that screened porch I’ve been promised – – – now THAT will be nice too!

      Happy Saturday Buddy!
      Sam

      Like

    • Hi Isobel…thanks for the compliment on my ginger man…..he really enjoyed being outdoors quite a bit yesterday – today the same I believe. Loved the photo of Cat in the box. Very sweet.

      Pam

      Like

  4. Hi Sammy!! The very first thing that came into my mind was the Beatles song “I’ll Follow The Sun”….(one of my Mom’s faves!)

    My favorite place to lay in the sun is on top of my cat tower! Mom put it right by the sunniest window in the house!

    Enjoy your sunbathing!
    Love, Cody

    Like

    • Hi Cody! Those towers are great aren’t they? I know lots of cat friends who have those and who get to enjoy some sunny naps on them. Today (Sunday) is going to be just as pretty as yesterday was here – I hope you have a beauty there too so you can get on your tower and SNOOZE!

      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

I wanna know what YOU've got to say!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.