Bakin’ with Bacon And The King!

Standard

Hello Loyal Subjects of the Land of Baconia!   I – your King – am here to make something yummy for you to copy!

I aim to find some delicious treats for you that have EVERYTHING to do with enjoying our favorite THING here in Bacon-land……………………..BACON!    My recipes always have that ingredient in them and even more yummy stuff to make these recipes SCRUMMY (that’s UK-talk for scrumptious).    Today – a really good little snack – binge-watching TV lately?    Put a plate of these by your side and they’ll be gone before you know it.   Watching a sporting thing on the tube?    Put a stack of these on your side table and you’ll not be sorry you made them!    Why the name?   Well these little pies fit quite nicely in your hand…….how HANDy!!!

BACON HAND PIES

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 pkg pre-made pie crust (2 crusts)
  • 8 oz. cream cheese
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 2 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled (or more – to taste)
  • 1/2 cup cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 2 green onions, stems only
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp parsley flakes
  • 1/4 tsp dill
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 egg

Note:   The spices are not totally necessary – or you can add your own – I didn’t have parsley flakes or dill so I made these with garlic and onion powder – Honestly I think whatever your favorite spices are could be in this recipe considering the other ingredients!

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Place parchment on a cookie sheet and set aside.

  2. Mix the cream cheese, sour cream and spices until well combined. Stir in bacon, cheese and green onions.

  3. Unroll the pie crusts and cut out 16 circles using a 4″ biscuit cutter. Roll together any leftover pie crust pieces to get enough pastry to reach 15 or 16 circles.

  4. Top each circle of crust with a tablespoonful of the cream cheese mixture. Dip your finger in a bit of water and rub that along the edge of the circle, to help seal the hand pies. Fold the crust over and seal the pies however you prefer. I did a pinch and fold, but crimping the edges with a fork would work just as well.

  5. Place onto prepared cookie sheet and cut a small slice into each pie so steam can escape. Beat egg with 1 tbsp of water and brush onto each hand pie.

  6. Bake for 20-22 minutes. Enjoy

     

Oh yes there’s no doubt about it……………..tasty is the word…………………just one tablespoon of the mixture in each little pie – you finish one and reach for another….and another…..and – well – you get the idea!     I also say the more bacon in there the better……but that’s just me – after all I am the KING OF BACONIA!

Tee Hee!!

My work is done……I shall take a royal nap now!   See you next week………. 

King Teddy

37 responses »

  1. Sounds like the perfect Sunday morning breakfast! And it should go with the o j – lemon – honey sorbet I’ve been making. It’s hot in FL, so during this quarantine, I’ve been experimenting with sorbet recipes – and focusing on vitamin C to ward off stray germs. Who know how much fun that gelato machine could be!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds very tasty! I don’t think chicken would be a good substitute in this recipe though so I will have to give it a miss. It has given me the idea to make some Cornish pasties though. I haven’t done that for a long time.
    I wonder if I will be able to eat anything pork after that troublesome gallbladder is eventually removed.
    I do miss belly pork roast!

    Liked by 2 people

    • You’re right – chicken wouldn’t be good in this recipe……..BUT Cornish pasties WOULD be good and if you know how to do those maybe that’s your “handy dandy snack” !! Hopefully you can eat pork after that gallbladder is gone but we don’t really know – no doubt your doc will give you a list of dos and don’ts after that!!

      Hugs, Pam

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This seems like a yummy chip dip in a pie. And super easy to make. Good for a cool day by the fire…well at least at your house. Couple of hot days, and then it will be cool enough for a fire again. Anyhoo, have a great day. XOCK, angel Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, angel Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth, Calista Jo, Cooper Murphy and Sawyer

    Like

  4. Oh, Teddy, that’s a well deserved nap after such a delicious meal. I think the spicies does make it even more delicious as it is already.😸Fingerlicking Pawkisses for a Happy Caturday. Stay Safe Healthy and Yourselfie🐾😽💞

    Like

I wanna know what YOU've got to say!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.