Bakin’ With Bacon and King Ted

Standard

Howdy Visitors!   YES I’m getting in the Easter spirit a little early.   

Welcome to the castle kitchen and another bacon recipe from the King!

This one is interesting.   Maybe because there are some ingredients that I’d never have thought would work so well together but THE ROYAL PARENTS can attest to how yummy this recipe really and truly is.     Of course my Mom and Dad love butternut squash so that was a big plus!

What am I making for you today?

ROASTED BUTTERNUT SQUASH SALAD WITH BACON AND ONIONS

 

Ingredients

1 butternut squash, halved lengthwise and seeded

1 tablespoon olive oil

aluminum foil

6 slices bacon

1 cup sliced onion

8 cups chopped romaine lettuce

1/3 cup toasted and chopped pecans

1/3 cup raisins

2 tablespoons maple syrup or more if you like

 

Directions

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F (230 degrees C).

Brush cut sides of butternut squash with olive oil. Wrap each squash half tightly in aluminum foil.

Roast squash halves in the preheated oven until they begin to soften, about 20 minutes. Remove squash from the oven and let sit until cool enough to handle. Remove foil and slice into 3/4-inch thick slices. Remove skin from each slice and cut into 3/4-inch cubes. Set aside 8 cups of the cubed squash, reserving any remaining squash for another use.

Place bacon in a large skillet and cook over medium-high heat, turning occasionally, until crispy, 10 to 12 minutes. Remove bacon and drain on paper towels. Add onions to the skillet and cook in the bacon grease for 2 to 3 minutes. Add 8 cups squash and cook, tossing occasionally, until onions are soft and beginning to caramelize, and squash cubes are tender, 10 to 15 minutes.

Place romaine lettuce in a large serving bowl. Crumble bacon on top and add pecans and raisins. Add butternut squash-onion mixture; toss to combine. Drizzle with maple syrup and serve warm.

 

Sounds good doesn’t it?    Guess what………………..it is delicious.    This recipe serves six so you can either adjust as you want OR make the whole thing and have some leftovers – it’s just as yummy the second time around.

Tee Hee!!

See you Next Sunday for an EASTER Recipe!!

Royal Hugs from your King!

36 responses »

  1. OH, NO, we don’t have any white eggs to dye for The Bunny! Maybe we’ll make tea eggs…hard-boiled eggs cracked a bit and left in a tea infusion to “marble”…hmmm. Any chickens around here?

    Like

    • Oh yes – tea eggs are beautiful…….My husband (an ancient child at heart) hunts for Easter eggs every year that the Bunny (aka me) has hidden in the house for him to find. It’s crazy fun. Teddy watches me hide them and gives my husband HINTS where to find them. So hilarious.

      Hugs, Pam

      Like

  2. I am sure it is delicious but not for me I am afraid. I don’t like butternut squash or any dried fruit. I have to be careful with onions because they can easily aggravate my condition, and I am not allowed anything pork. I know it makes me sound very picky but I really am not, and do like most things.

    Like

    • Nope I totally understand – you do need to pay attention to what you eat. I have problem with RAW onions but if they are sauteed for some reason I have no problem AND like the sweetness they take on when cooked. I’m glad you follow your diet STRICTLY – that’s VERY important…… Hugs, Pam

      Like

  3. Sounds very good but; for some reason I do not care for squash. Hope you have a great weekend. Says rain but; really haven’t done too much yet but; it is deary out.
    Sue

    Like

  4. Oh Yummy! Mr D (our next door neighbor) has given us a gizzillion squash. He manages the community garden and there were loads of extras form the sale last fall that he stored in his cold room. They are Acorn but Mom says she will try the recipe using them. And maybe a banana split for desert! This will be a lovely change from soup and stuffed! Have a marvellously happy day!

    Like

  5. Mom says that looks labor intensive but does sound super yummy. Thanks for sharing another terrific recipe, Teddy. You are indeed a master chef. XOCK, angel Lily Olivia, angel Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, angel Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth, Calista Jo, Cooper Murphy, Sawyer & Kizmet

    Like

I wanna know what YOU've got to say!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.