Bakin’ with Bacon With King Teddy

Standard

Hello from The Castle Kitchen!

I’m here cookin’ up a storm after giving the Castle of Baconia’s CHEF the day off.   I wonder what he does on his day off?    Clean the moat?   Take a spin in the countryside?   Visit his girlfriend?    Well, I’m just happy to leave my regular duties as the King of Baconia to bring you some YUMMY bacon recipes I’ve found here and there.

Today’s is probably the EASIEST one I’ve ever given you.    You might even think it’s just too easy to be good – but you’d be wrong!    It’s excellent.   The fact of the matter is, you really COULD use any two cheeses you like in this recipe but I really think Swiss and Cheddar (my preference is sharp cheddar) are a wonderful combination that compliments each other.

So, as I said – there’s something extra special about an EASY to make but “different” sandwich so here’s one for you to try.

Bacon, Tomato  and Two Cheeses Sandwich (makes 4)

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
  • 8 slices sourdough bread
  • 8 slices Swiss cheese (3/4 ounce each)
  • 8 slices cheddar cheese (3/4 ounce each)
  • 8 slices tomato
  • 4 slices sweet onion
  • 8 cooked bacon strips (or more)
  • 2 tablespoons butter, softened

Directions

  • In a small bowl, mix mayonnaise and mustard; spread over four bread slices. Layer with cheeses, tomato, onion and bacon. Top with remaining bread. Butter outsides of sandwiches.
  • On a griddle, or in a frying pan, toast sandwiches over medium heat until golden brown and cheese is melted, 2-3 minutes on each side.

See?  I wasn’t kidding was I – easy as can be.  

Well it makes me happy too or I wouldn’t be King of Baconia right?    Angel Sammy passed the crown on to me because HE also was happy about bacon.   One of the PERFECT foods!

Have a super Saturday, I’m headed to my throne to rest!

31 responses »

  1. I love toasted sandwiches and I always have a lot of Cheddar in the fridge. I like the extra vintage which I would think is similar to sharp cheese. I have also got Cornish Yarg which is locally produced and is a creamier cheese but with a distinctive taste. anything including mayo has to be good too!
    Cornish Yarg, (they also do one wrapped in nettles which I am not so keen on.)
    https://www.lynherdairies.co.uk/stithians/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh that Cornish Yarg sounds divine! I’m a cheese-a-holic in addition to a chocaholic so I’m SURE if we could get this cheese here I’d love it. I have a feeling it would be the perfect compliment to the “extra vintage”/sharp cheddar on this sandwich. Nettles? No thanks….but this sandwich truly is delicious!

      Hugs, Pam

      Like

  2. That looks fantastic, especially for a cold day. That chef better not take many days off or you will replace him, you are quite the chef and I hear you have a chef’s hat too 🙂 XO

    Like

    • HA! Mom has tried that wonderful chefs hat you made me a million (at least) times and I shake my head and send it flying every time. LOL I am LESS than cooperative about it. Mom is MAD too because I have quite a few adorable hats (including my blue beret you made for me) and my Scouts campaign hat that she’d like to take my photo in……..BUTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT………..I’m a little stinker!

      Love, Teddy

      Like

    • You’re right – if Mom’s using bacon and cheese in the kitchen and you use the right “LOOK” on her as you quietly sit at her feet, it’s entirely possible some of that good stuff will land in your dishes!!!!

      Hugs, Teddy

      Like

  3. Teddy, our mom just remembered when she saw this recipe that her Mom made open-faced grilled cheese sandwiches with sliced tomato and bacon, and they were yummy. We know our mom would like these (without the onion). Thanks for this recipe. Hugs and love to al. XOCK, angel Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, angel Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth, Calista Jo, Cooper Murphy and Sawyer

    Like

I wanna know what YOU've got to say!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.