Meeting Friends

Standard

**Pam here – Sam’s asleep and it’s MY turn to blog!**

One thing I read over and over on the blogs I follow is that without a doubt, meeting the people we “follow” in the blogosphere in person is almost always TONS of fun.  You know these people from their blogs so they’ve been friends for a long time but once in a while you get lucky and your paths cross!

On Monday my husband and I met the dynamic duo behind The Cat On My Head blog – the Mom and Dad of all those Kitties Blue we know and love.  They were not far away from our town on business and were coming BACK through this way so we decided to meet in Warrenton for lunch.    It was so much fun…….you see, not only are Janet and I friends from our blogs, we are friends through Cat Scouts as well.   Remember, Sammy is a Troop Leader and Janet’s cat Mauricio is the Assistant Troop Leader!

We decided when we discussed having lunch that it would be fun to have our cats with us (no – not our ACTUAL cats – the “Flat Cats” you’ve probably heard us talking about – a cardboard version of us that can be mailed/taken EVERYWHERE a bit more easily than a REAL cat).    SO Janet had Mauricio and I had Sam and we sat them on the table at the restaurant for a giggle – they had their official Cat Scouts neckerchiefs on too…….do I have to tell you that the entire restaurant thought we were nuts?   Do I have to tell you that we didn’t care one bit if they did?   HAHAHAHA

It was a lovely lunch and a fun time and even the FLAT CATS had a ball………we got to bring Mauricio home with us in fact.   The thing about “Flat Cat Scouts” is that our “Flat Cats” have been spending months traveling EVERYWHERE visiting each other through the mail.   We’re logging miles up as we visit and having photos taken of our cats enjoying themselves……….and whoever racks up the most miles is going to win a PRIZE.

Mauricio will be off in the mail today visiting another Cat Scout…………”Flat Sam” will be mailed out too on another visit.   I think the Cat Scouts are probably traveling more than most of my human friends have in YEARS!!!

Here are some photos from the past few days…………………I think you can tell it’s been FUN………………….

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Anyway, meeting someone in person that you’ve known only “at a distance” on the computer is always fun………………this was no exception.  David and I enjoyed visiting with Janet and Tom AND “Flat Cat” Mauricio!

Mauricio is celebrating today before he leaves us – it’s his BIRTHDAY today – so we hope he has a SUPER special birthday trip ahead to his next destination.   Farewell Mau – bon voyage and Happy Birthday!

MAUBIRTHDAYVISIT

 

Hugs, Pam (while Sam is napping!)

55 responses »

  1. Such a cute story, Pam. We live pretty close to you, too. Even though we’ve stopped our blog, Moggiepurrs, I still like to follow many of my “bloggy-friends” every day. We especially like Teaser Day & then the Reveal Day, and House Cleaning Day. Tell Sammy he’s doing a great job. 🙂

    Like

    • So glad you enjoy our blog Miss Bev……….we really thought it was fun to meet another blogger who is only 3 hours away from us………It always makes me happy to hear from someone who has as much fun with our blog as WE do!

      Love, Sammy

      Like

    • HAHAHA! It was fun……and easy actually to do the flat me….Mom just had a photo of me enlarged then pasted it to a piece of cardboard! Easy peasy! I do hope your Mom does NOT sit on you – that would be a painful way to become flat for sure!

      Love, Sammy

      Like

    • I’m awake now and upset with Mom for hijacking my blog – the only thing saving her (!) is the fact she’s talking about one of my FRIENDS – Mauricio! You can rest assured this will NOT be happening again any time soon though!

      Love, Sammy

      Like

  2. Oh, how wonderful! Sammy, your Mom and I have a special friendship, which began with our blogs. It’s nice to keep in touch through the internet, but, oh so sweet to meet in person!
    Love, Sundae’s mom

    Like

  3. Sounds like you had a tonne of fun. Was there nip? Had to ask, you know.

    And I must say, flat Sammy and flat Mauricio look so… REAL. Gosh, I would never have realized they were flat cats had you not told us. WOW. So lifelike. Hmmm… Do they enjoy the nip? Had to ask. You know…

    Purrs,
    Seville

    Like

  4. Aww, I love these posts! And Sammy and Mauricio getting to go along to lunch is too too much fun! Love Mauricio on the lawn tractor! Great picture of you and Janet and the kitties… love the smiles! Happy Birthday to Mauricio!

    Like

  5. I would love love love to meet any of the CB kitties. I have gotten to meet Random D=Feline’s mommy but that’s it. Simba’s mommy has relatives not too far away so who knows, I may get to meet his mommy! I wish my mommy could make a flat me! I know the three places fr sure I would go to!

    Like

  6. Pam what a beautiful post. I will be posting tomorrow about our delightful meeting. Had to do something for the Babies today. Love the card for Mau. We will add it to our post tomorrow. I know Mau will have fun with Sam on his birthday. Hugs and love, Janet and XOCK, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

    Like

    • One of the photos I took this morning was of Mau standing on top of another cat’s head…..it’s about time THE CAT ON MY HEAD stood on another cat’s head right? Hope they have a wonderful birthday!

      Love, Pam

      Like

  7. I love all the photos- especially the one of the kitties with their Moms 🙂 Flat cats are almost as much fun as real kitties- almost 🙂 I hope someday we can meet in person. XO

    Like

  8. Dat’s so pawsum. Da pawents Blue awe amazin’ peeps. And Sammy and Mau look just adowable. Cat scouts sure do know how to get wound and have a gweat time. We luvved all da fotos. And fink it was wunnewful dat yous all finally got da chance to meet. Happy Meowday to Mau. Have a pawsum day.

    Luv ya’

    Dezi and Lexi

    Like

  9. Pam, how awesome is this !!! I think it’s wonderful you got to meet blogging and cat scouts friends…for “real”….. I know everyone had a great time; hopefully maybe you and David can meet up with Janet and Tom again some day !! ♥♥♥

    Like

  10. I agree, it is great fun to meet up with blogging friends. We have met a few in the US. We also met Ginger Jasper’s mum and dad, Carol and Barrie when they were on holiday near us. Milo and Alfie’s mum and dad were living about 50 miles from us at the time and we all met for Sunday lunch and brought our flat cats.

    Like

  11. Oh no Mau….I didn’t know it was your birthday so a Happy Belated Birthday my friend. It is wonderful when our mom and dads get to visit each other in person. You two flats look great as do your moms.

    Big hugs,

    Shoko

    Like

  12. Hello Pam I am here…Siddhartha Henry is over at Speedy’ Pie-Rat pawty…
    I am so happy you got to meet Janet & her hubby! She & I have spoken a lot on the phone. I feel like I know so many of you better than family; which I do. It is always refreshing & wonderful to speak to someone who ‘gets’ me & the blogging experience….
    I wish I were healthy & well off so I could travel to meet all of you!!!!
    Flat Mau looks SO real!!! Happy trails & Happy Birthday!
    (((hugs))) an love Sherri-Ellen

    Like

    • Yes, Flat Mau really DID look real when I saw him the first time! He had a good visit with us too I think. We had a super time with Janet and Tom – they are such a sweet couple. Hope you and Siddhartha are feeling good and enjoying some QUIET time!

      Love, Pam (and Sam)

      Like

  13. Oh, what fun that you and your hubby and Janet & hers all got to meet, and that Sammy and Mauricio did as well! 🙂
    Only other bloggers would not even look twice if they saw flat cats on a restaurant table…LOL. (well, they’d look twice just to see if they knew you)

    Like

I wanna know what YOU've got to say!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.