Teaser Tell All

Standard

Howdy Teaser Fans!    So what did you think of yesterday’s challenge?   A lot of you were on the right trail alright but nobody actually guessed THE place the photos were taken…………………first to recap!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now for a few MORE photos from the same place which weren’t included on the Teaser yesterday!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Where were the photos taken and by which one of my blog buddies?    Well the photos were taken on the amazingly beautiful island of Tasmania or “Tassie” as the locals call it.  It’s separate from the mainland obviously since it’s an island but is still PART of the amazing country of Australia……………….and the photos were sent to me by our friend and yours Bev Green (aka “Fozziemum”) of “One Fur All and All Fur One” and “Fozzie.M” blogs.   THANK YOU MISS BEV!    What a journey you and your hubby had when you visited “Tassie”.    When I remarked to Bev that I’d always wanted to see a real Tasmanian Devil she sent me a couple of photos of them!

Tasmanian Devil1Tasmanian Devil2

Here’s what Bev had to say about her trip and the photos………………..

“These pics are from the beautiful West coast of Tasmania on the West Coast Wilderness Railway..Phil and I drove around Tassie in 2010.
The Beautiful old train takes a tour through the Huon Pine areas between the mining town of Queenstown and the little seaport of Strahan.
The trees are thousands of years old and the are very much like stepping onto the set of Jurassic park.
We dined on amazing food on board and the air was the freshest I have ever breathed.
There is a section of the rail that is incredibly steep and special ABT rack and Pinion was used to enable the trains to haul their cargoes up the steep grade.
Started in 1895 to enable Copper to be moved from Queenstown to market.
Phil and I drove the road to Queenstown and it was the steepest eeriest drive ever..sheer drop to old mine cuts …quite a challenge..
The views were amazing the train one of the world’s finest rail trips and the litel stop at the end we panned for gold bought tons of amazing Honey of various flavours and had the first ever eco loo experience!
We will certainly go back again the port of Strahan such a sweet town and would be a lovely retirement place.
It was 35 kilometres of dining eating drinking and scenic captures!”

Now a whole LOT of you guessed Australia………………since that was as close as it got to being right (and technically Tasmania is part of Australia) I’m going to give all of you who guessed the “I Guessed It Right” award but because nobody guessed Tasmania, nobody gets the “First Right Guesser” because the RIGHT guess – the TOTALLY right guess – would have been Tasmania.   I hope that doesn’t cause a war……….(hahaha)………but guessing the country is only half the battle – you need to be more specific !!   Right?  Right!  Everyone knows the rules by now……….SO, here’s your award those of you who guessed Australia:

 RIGHTGUESSERTEASER

And those of you who didn’t guess correctly get this badge to display with honor (at least it shows you tried!):

RIGHTWRONGTEASER

You still MIGHT like to know who was the first one to guess Australia………………….well it was my friend from “Trifles” blog (you know them as Kolytyi)………..and know what?  Just because you really did guess Australia first Kolytyi, I’m thinking maybe Honorable Mention???????   You’re a faithful follower of the Tuesday Teasers………I’d say that’s pretty HONORABLE, wouldn’t you??????

TEASERHONORABLEMENTION

 

Make sure and tune in again next week for another adventure in the wonderful world of Tuesday Teasers…..you never know where we’ll go next!

Happy Wednesday, Sammy

 

62 responses »

  1. Sammy that’s a great idea for an honourable mention 🙂 indeed most people think of the devils and that’s all they know…it has the freshest water in the world too which is delicious 🙂 congrats to those who spotted the ferns as us Aussie and the kiwis do great ferns 🙂 hugs to you Sammy and thanks for showing our Apple Isle Tassie 🙂 hugs Fozziemum xxx

    Like

      • They sure were close those clever bloggie pals Sammy! it was fun..and the thing is it is lovely to think that such wild places as the Amazon or Puerto Rica get mentioned..i think many Aussies don’t appreciate we have amazing places here too 🙂 it was a devilish teaser bwahahaaha 🙂 you are most welcome..and Puffing Billy that Misaki mentioned is a lovey train in our State of Victoria..i grew up near it…a every year people race Puffing Billy up the hills….man v machine 🙂 hugs Fozziemum xxx

        Like

  2. Congrats Kolytyi!!!! And what a super badge you made, Sammy! I’m glad that my dad was NOT right hahahaha. Tasmania looks wonderful and I would like to discover this place. But I have no clue why my mom said I’m related with that devil guy there, I mean there is no similarity (maybe mental lol). Thanks for a great teaser Bev&Sammy!

    Like

  3. conga ratz two all de Australia winnerz & two trifles !!

    we had de furst letter guessed rite thiz time any way !!!

    N dood….stop by TT sum time…. we haz lurned ta seer bacon wrapped filetz …we even haz lawn chairz out now…. N hope ta keep em out for a few !!!

    🙂

    Like

  4. Heavens, gorgeous there and little Taz is amazingly cute. Not like the Bugs Bunny one at all 😉 I just started following a blogger from Tasmania actually. She’s a very clever girl with a crazy garden and a vocabulary that will turn your world upside down. You might enjoy her at The Road To Serendipity Farm. She has a dog named Earl (after the TV show, My Name Is Earl). Posting once a week, every Wednesday…..hey today is Wednesday! Have a fantastic day Pam and Sammy!

    http://theroadtoserendipity.wordpress.com

    Like

    • Hi Boomdee! Thanks for the info on the blog……..anybody who gardens has my complete and utter admiration – This will be my second year of doing “non-gardening” or maybe I should call it “minimalist gardening”…..I’ll buy some things and plop them into the ground and they’re on their own……..I’ll water them but FRET and WORRY? Nope – not me….I’ve been there and done that and worried more times than I care to think about over my plants outside. I just look for hardy things that don’t need babying now – I’m much happier!!! HAHAHA

      Hugs, Pam

      Like

    • Who knew about Tasmania until we saw these photos? Not us that’s for sure………looks a lot like the world a million years ago doesn’t it with all those giant ferns? Fun to learn new stuff!!

      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

  5. At furst Dad was thinking this was somewhere around where we are. We are close to what is known as the Great Curve where the railroads went over the Allegheny Mountains replacing barge traffic here in PA and Ohio of the USA. There were trains with the cogs and some with chains to get over our mountains.
    We had none of those cute Devils though
    Purrs Sammy

    Like

  6. I think you did that very fairly, Sammy. I’m surprised that anyone even got that close in guessing. The additional photos wouldn’t probably have helped me any (except for clueing me in that it wasn’t NH – hee hee). I loved seeing the real Tasmanian Devils too!

    Like

  7. MOL MOL MOL Sammy my mom was a gazillion miles off on that guess!!
    Oh how she wants to visit Down Under…but she isn’t sure she can stay on a plane that long. Mol and she is pawsitive they won’t let her off 1/2 there.
    Hugs madi your bfff

    Like

  8. I would so NEVER HAVE GUESSED Tasmania. I would have been lucky to hit the right planet, much less the right continent. MOUSES!

    Hmmm… the little devil critter is a cutie, though. I’ve heard they can be mean. You know anythin’ more ’bout them?

    Purrs,
    Nissy

    Like

    • Hi Nissy…..aren’t those Devil guys adorable? Like a great big rat….oops….well, maybe rat isn’t the best comparison….but they are cute and Spitty thinks someone should change their name to Tasmanian Sweetie Pie. HE’s got a point don’t you think??

      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

  9. Sammy! Sammy!! SAMMY!!! Did you see the new pizap feature? Actually, I don’t know if it’s new or if I just noticed it for the first time this week but that’s where I got the picture of the castle and I’ve got at least one more sticker up my sleeve for Sunday. Well, I would if I wore sweaters with sleeves and whatnot, if you know what I mean.

    Purrs,
    Nissy

    Like

    • Nissy! I didn’t know Pizap had something NEW!!!!! I’ll have to go take a peekie…..I love Pizap….where would we be without it?? I just love love love love your story so far – I’m on pins and needles (and it hurts!).

      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

  10. Shoot, we think that Tasmanian Devil is kind of cute! Someone should start a petition or sumfing to change its name to Tasmanie Sweetie Pie. Ya think?

    Like

    • Great idea Spitty……I’ll tell Miss Bev that purrrhaps since she’s an Aussie, she should start that petition immediately if not sooner. I think he looks very squeezeable – Miss Bev says they have a tendency when frightened to SCREAM though….that might be somewhat irritating but humans scream when frightened too…..!

      Hugs, Sam

      Like

  11. OMC!! Mom already has her bags packed! What a pawsome place!! And we would have guessed so wrong; it reminded Mom of the train up in No Calif through the Redwoods…The Skunk Train starting in Willits (that’s about all there is to Willits…MOL)

    Like

I wanna know what YOU've got to say!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.