Santa Paws Forgot……

Standard

Now you’d think that the one person we all can count on is Santa Paws right?  We do our lists, send them in to him at the North Pole, and if we’re good – VERY VERY good – Santa Paws brings us lots of toys and goodies on his sleigh right?  

Well, I had a big surprise the other day.  When I came down to breakfast there on the floor was a package wrapped in Christmas paper!  Yes!  Nobody knew how it got there – least of all ME since I’m usually sleeping in the room where the fireplace is (and we all know that’s how he comes into our houses right??).  Anyway, I ripped the paper off and here’s what I found!

WOW!  My very own sled!

WOW! My very own sled!

 

This sled smells like Santa's Workshop!  It must be true!  Santa brought this for me!!!

This sled smells like Santa’s Workshop! It must be true! Santa brought this for me!!!

There was a note tucked inside that said:

“Dear Sammy…….I asked my special delivery elf department to rush this package to you ASAP because as they were doing routine maintenance on my sleigh, they discovered a package that had slipped out of my bag and out of sight in the sleigh!  It was tucked behind the seat where nobody saw it until the upholsterers were ready to recover my cushion with new leather.   I’m so sorry you didn’t get this present from me on Christmas morning with all your other surprises.  I do hope you will forgive me.  It will NEVER happen again.  I even asked my good friend Mother Nature to make sure you had a few extra snowfalls even though it’s Spring just so you could use this!!

Yours Faithfully,  Santa Paws”

WELL!  That explains why we still have winter weather doesn’t it?!  Don’t you just love my sled?  I sure do!   YAY SANTA PAWS!

How would you like to know who wrote the very last of the poems submitted for the Scariest Poem at camp?  Well, here’s the poem and it was submitted by my friends at Hutch A Good Life, Nutty, Basil, Nibbles and Buddy. 

It was a dark and a grey sort of day,
Like the ones whee always hate,
A group of friends were going camping,
But one of them was running late.
“Sorry,” cried the latecomer in gasps,
Dashing up with just seconds to spare,
Begging they forgive him this time,
As a gorilla had stolen all his underwear.
Now you may well go ahead and laugh,
Oh how his friends, well they certainly did,
But they did not notice they were being watched,
By something which behind a garbage truck hid.
The trip to the site was surprisingly merry,
They all sang as their leader strummed at his guitar,
And one tried out his skills on the violin,
It was so bad they almost jumped out of the car!
When they finally reached the old woods,
Night had already begun to fall,
They set up their tents at top speed,
And set a fire as the air began to cool.
They chatted as they ate their dinner,
Enjoying candy bars and toffee sticks,
And one, the ever hopeful Romeo,
Tried to charm the ladies with his magic tricks.
After one particular failed magic card,
They heard something move in the trees,
“Is it magic?!” asked someone quietly,
“No don’t be silly,” another did tease.
But the rustle continued and got closer,
And the friends moved into a huddle,
Wrapping paws into paws and fur intertwined,
In a very strange sort of a cuddle.
It was a week later when the site was found,
After a ranger wondered why no one had returned,
He was surprised to find the suitcases still there,
But every single special tent had been quite burned.
No one knows what happened to those friends,
But they say if you stand beneath those trees,
You can here them calling for help,
And a eerie rustling sound on the breeze . . .

WHAT A FABULOUS POEM!!!   Now that you know who wrote each of the poems you had to choose from to vote for during the camping trip you see what very talented blogging buddies we all have don’t you! 

My sincere thanks to all of you……….all the poems were fabulous!

Now – I’m going to have a fabulous Caturday admiring my sled – how about you?????

Kitty Hugs, Sammy

54 responses »

    • Hi Cupcake! I’m with you on the bug thing. My favorite is moths. Juicy and crunchy at the same time. I’m not quite as FAST as I used to be catching them in the evening by our outdoor lights but I sure TRY!

      Kitty Hugs, Sammy

      Like

  1. Great poem by those Hutch boys! And, Sammy, I LOVE your sled!!! It’s Sammy- sized! (But howsabout keeping that snow in NORTHERN Virginia?? We’re ready for SPRING!) And Motor Mommy says that sled kinda looks familiar….. wonder what that means???
    Love, Sundae

    Like

    • Tee Hee Sundae…….The Hutch boys and their Mum are VERY talented writers aren’t they? Glad you like my sled. I would share with you if we lived next door Sundae – honest I would.

      Love, Sam

      Like

  2. Another very scary good poem! That sled is just the right Sammy size 🙂 Oh geez I just saw that Dianna typed that too. Oh well, great minds think alike! In about 24 hours we are going to have 6 to 8 inches of that S word. Ick. Hope you get bacon this morning Sam!

    Like

    • Hi Miss Pix….snow coming here tonight too! My Sammy-sized sled might come in handy after all!! Bacon? Oh yeah we had bacon this morning….a Saturday without bacon is like a winter without a sled. 😀

      Kitty Hugs, Sam

      Like

  3. Oh Sammy, how sweet that is! Thank goodness Santa didn’t mind delivering it late and even wrote a note to you. I hope he might do the same if it happens here. xoxox

    Like

    • I thought it was a nice touch from Santa Paws….a personal apology….after all I’m SURE it was something about the way his elves had packed my sled into Santa’s bag that made it fall out in the first place! It’s nice when the guy at the top doesn’t blame the underlings when something goes wrong! 😉

      Kitty Hugs Sam

      Like

  4. Well, if the weather map is right, you might have some new snow to ride your sled on. Since there wasn’t any snow at Christmas, it’s just as well that Santa had your sled delivered late!
    Hugs,
    June

    Like

  5. That’s a pawsome sled Sammy. At least now you’ll not be regretting the lack of Spring in the air. The piggies poem was fabulous. Had guessed it. So cool to find out when you’ve guessed correctly. So much easier than you Teaser posts, which I never get unless cheating 🙂

    Like

    • Tee Hee! It was fun to reveal who wrote the poems….I had a feeling people could sort of figure out who the authors were. As for the Teaser….you know how I love to hand out hugs SO, if cheating works to get one then I say cheat away! 😀 😀 😀

      Kitty Hugs, Sam

      Like

  6. That’s a cool sled … now you need some snow too :o) Or better to wait till next winter? I wonder who could be the “ever hopeful Romeo” in the piggie-poem :o)
    Have a fabulous Caturday – with a sled-load of bacon :o)

    Like

    • Hi Sir Easy! A sled-load of bacon sounds like MYYYYYYYYYYY kind of Saturday! It’s supposed to snow here tonight sadly. I say “sadly” even though some snow would give me a chance to try out my sled BUT my Mom has said ENOUGH IS ENOUGH with the snow……I can’t blame her.

      Kitty Hugs, Sammy

      Like

      • I agree, this snow is a pain in the neck this year. But maybe we will have spring or something like summer in november?Should we ignore the temperatures and the weather and wearing brave t-shirts and shorts as a statement for spring (or for sponsering the pharmaceutical industry if we’ll get a cold)

        Like

        • Maybe bathing suits and shorts might at least encourage Spring to get here……I don’t look very good in shorts myself but I bet YOU do Easy. Although if I had knee socks on WITH my shorts – maybe. Maybe the weather idiots are wrong about us getting snow tonight. I wouldn’t mind waiting until NEXT year to use my new sled.

          Kitty Hugs, Sam

          Like

  7. Better late than never, right? Have fun with it in all you snow. It’s snowing here too. I wonder if is because Santa Paws forgot something for me. One can hope.
    Blessings,
    Goose

    Like

  8. WOW! You got a personal letter from the big guy in red and everything! Have you tried out the sleigh yet? Bet it’s a super-duper good one.
    Purrs,
    Nissy

    Like

  9. Holy crackers, that ended badly. At least they had candy bars and toffee as their last meal.

    How awesome to get a late christmas present. I will forgive this snowy weather then, just for you Sammy.

    Like

    • Thanks a lot Boomdeeadda! I promise when this little bit of snow we’re supposed to get is gone, I’ll put my sled away….to the back of the closet…..so Spring will think WINTER is gone….!

      Kitty Hugs, Sammy

      Like

  10. We are sitting here not being to thankful that Santa promised you more snow. We have snow in the forecast again tonight. Enough already. Our Mom and Dad are even grumpier than we are as they can’t ride their tandem. We don’t like grumpy humans! If you do get snow, enjoy your sled then please put it away until next fall. Purrs and hugs, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Josette

    Like

  11. Sammy that sled is just the CUTEST EVER!! OMC I want to see you riding on it. I have to agree with you though…the fact that Santa Paws JUST brought it to you might mean that it IS your fault that Spring isn’t coming!
    Walk AWAY from the sled! Love, your pal, Cody

    Like

    • Hi Cody! Isn’t my sled CUTE?? I have it propped next to my little red wagon/toybox. I’m SO lucky! Let’s hope Spring ignores my sled and gets here soon though – I can wait until NEXT winter to use my new sled….!!

      Kitty Hugs, Sam

      Like

    • I love it too Miss Melanie…..we thought we would get snow last night but now it seems IF we get any it might be tomorrow…..meanwhile my new sled is standing by for duty!

      Kitty Hugs, Sam

      Like

  12. Yow Yow dere IZ a Santa Pawz then?? Mousiez!! Dat sled iz stylin’!! Maybee if you ask Misaki n Easy nice dey cuud be yer pullin pupz n take ya fer a ride in da snow???
    What a bunderfull gift!!!!
    Lub Nylablue n Mum….

    Like

  13. The camping trip and games was such a great idea Sammy and I loved the poems and finding out who wrote them.
    Pity you didn’t get your sleigh sooner – we could have had sand dune racing 🙂

    Like

I wanna know what YOU've got to say!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.