A Summer “Getaway” Spot?

Standard
Oil Painting of house on lake with porch and rocker

Looks like a nice place to spend a summer......sigh.....

Just sharing a picture of one of my Mom’s oil paintings…..why?  Well, because in the morning when we are in her office working on my blog (tough work ya know!)….I sit on the arm of the couch and STARE at this painting on her wall…..a lot.  I like to imagine what it would be like if this was a REAL place and I had this big front porch to lie on (or under!) and that boat to maybe hop into and curl up and listen to the water on the lake……or even if Mom was sitting in the rocker with her legs propped up on the railing and ‘lil ole me was lying on her legs snoring!  Wouldn’t that be cool?  Maybe it’s just because it looks COOL in this picture.  Yesterday it was in the 100s here and far from cool.  I was inside all day long.  Not that Mom didn’t open the door for me to go out if I wanted to – but when she did open the door I backed away like there was a monster out there! 

Anyway, back to the painting……it might be fun to pack up all my toys and my cushions and treats along with Mom and Dad and go to a lake house – – – – except for one thing – – – – I just bet you can guess by now what that might be??????? 

THE CAR MONSTER………I’d have to ride there in the car and probably for a loooooooooooooooooong time and that just won’t do!  Nosirrrreeeeeeeeeeeeee – not this boy.  So, I guess that means that I’ll just settle for this house (which is pretty “cushy”) in this heat (which I don’t have to be out in anyway) and be mighty happy to have that.  Just think about all the animals without just ONE home – much less TWO. 

Gee, I feel so much better now that I’ve figured out for sure that “there’s no place like home”………..meanwhile I can always look at the painting and imagine……………one thing cats are very good at doing!

Sammy, One Spoiled Cat (who appreciates art!)

About onespoiledcat

We are Angel Sammy and Teddy......! Two ginger cats - one left for the Rainbow Bridge in December of 2016 (but still keeps in touch...) and the other in the "here and now" having lots of fun. Join us as we try to bring smiles to everyone around us with our blog.

5 responses »

  1. One of my favorite paintings of hers too, Sammy. It just “feels” good. At least you can look at it from time to time and dream all sorts of scenarios about living there, and catching a snooze under that porch where it is probably nice and cool.

    Can’t blame you one bit for not wanting to go outside on these scorching days. Zoe is the same way. I’m also glad you figured out just how good you have it up there on that hill.

    Stay cool . . .

    Like

  2. Yep – you’re right Uncle Jerry…….staying in is best. I have to wonder if my friend who visits every morning for her treat from my Mom is holed up somewhere cool – at least I HOPE she is – we haven’t seen her this morning!!

    I’ll just stay here on Mom’s couch and stare at that painting today – I’m good at playing “make believe” !

    Sammy

    Like

  3. This is one of my favorite paintings, also. I’ve bought many of your note cards with this painting, Pam, and I always get the nicest compliments on it from the people I’ve sent them to. That would be the perfect place to be today. I can feel the cool breeze coming off the water!

    Like

  4. Hi Miss Trish! Mom said that painting has always been one of people’s favorites to order for notecards – and one of HER personal favorites too. She’s had lots of people want to buy the painting but she can’t part with it. LOL I’m glad since it’s also MY favorite!!

    Sammy

    Like

  5. What a beautiful painting! Your mom is very talented – not too many humans can capture such serenity on canvas. I could get myself lost in that, too.

    I think most cats would be with you on the car thing…

    Like

I wanna know what YOU've got to say!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.