Thankful and Thoroughly Poetic Thursday

Standard

Two For The Price Of One Day!

Thankful Thursday AND Thoroughly Poetic Thursday

First up – Thankful Thursday Blog Hop with our good friend Brian.   THANK YOU for hosting this weekly event Brian – gives us all a chance to say out loud what we think in our hearts every day – that we are indeed thankful.    I’m thankful today that I will have my big brother Angel Sammy with me in spirit starting this Sunday when I begin a whole week at “Cat Scouts Summer Camp” !    We have activities every single day of the week until the following Sunday – I’m nervous since this is my first BIG Scouts event.   Angel Sammy has promised to be “on my shoulder” – it will be the first big event there he’s missed since he became an Angel.

The second part of today’s post is in fact FROM Angel Sammy – he transmitted his “Thoroughly Poetic Thursday” post to me via email from his Rainbow Bridge Laptop last night……………..here it is!

Hello Friends!  Time for some poetry!

I’m so happy that I can continue to do these fun poetry challenges with all of you every week – we really do have excellent w-fi up here at the Rainbow Bridge…………and I write my poem in my spare time up here – usually right before I float away to dream land on my cloud at night!    We are working our way through the alphabet for the third time since I started Poetic Thursdays and this week the letter was the letter “H”.   Your poem needed to be about ANYTHING that starts with the letter “H” or you could use one or more of the prompt words that I give you each week.  

The “H” prompts I gave you last week were:

(1) Happy (2) Hobby (3) Heart (4) Home

I decided to write my poem for today using one of the prompt words – HOBBY!

“Hobby”

By Angel Sammy Kimmell, 8/3/17

When I was earthbound I loved to play

A made up game for every day

Hide and seek was one of my best

But in summer one hobby was better than the rest!

Butterfly tag was my specialty you see

I loved the challenge and I think they loved me!

They’d fly in range then suddenly UP and AWAY

I’m sure they knew if they were close they would pay!

When I was young I could leap way up high

Those butterflies flew right up to the sky

They were quite smart and played my game

When I got old though it just wasn’t the same

I never ever hurt them, I’d catch then let go

After all, watching them was the very best show.

Old age took away my ability to leap

But my love of the butterflies I could certainly keep.

One of nature’s beauties, delicate and light

Who knew I’d one day be like them and capable of flight!!

 

Here are some photos of me waiting UNDER our butterfly bush for those butterflies to visit – they always did – but they didn’t know I was hiding and WAITING – like a shark!   Tee Hee

Guess I’ll wait for more to arrive!

Hey there’s only one butterfly!!

Here we are !

Remember if you want to pawticipate in my poetry fun every week PLEASE DO.   Remember poems don’t have to rhyme to be poetry…………..any form will work…….you can put your poem in my comments here OR put your blog link in my comments so we can visit you and read your FABULOUS poetry.    

Next week we will do poems about things starting with the letter “I”………………….anything starting with that letter works OR you can use one or more of these prompt words if you want to!

(1) Imagine  (2) Idiot  (3) Iron  (4) Icky

So until next Thursday, I encourage you to give poetry a try……………..it’s fun……………HONEST!   

Bon Chance Mon Amis!  

Poet Angel Sammy

 

Thanks Angel Sammy!   And thanks to all of you for tuning in on double post Thursday!    See you tomorrow for Friendly Fill-In Friday………..and who knows what else…………it’s always something around here!

GIMME DAT!!

Love, Teddy

 

About onespoiledcat

We are Angel Sammy and Teddy......! When I went to the Rainbow Bridge in December 2016, my Mom and Dad adopted Teddy from the same shelter where they got me 17 years ago.......he's a cutie......I'm teaching him ALL I know. It's great that I can continue blogging from the Bridge - we have great wi-fi up here! Teddy and I will tell you all about our adventures together AND we have some fun blog features every week too. It's nice to meet you..........have fun with TWOSPOILEDCATS!

48 responses »

  1. that is a super sweet peom… the mama sniffled some tears away… but it is beautiful!!! I love the next prompts…. think they will inspire me to a poem about my dad… hehehehe…butt please don>’t tell him that ;o)))

    Like

  2. Wonderful poem, Angel Sammy! (I’m betting your Mom really likes that one, too!)
    You’ll have a ball at camp next week, Teddy – Angel Sammy will be there with you the entire time.
    Love, Sundae

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Madi! Angel Sammy sure did love your poem and so did I !! We had trouble with the CAPTCHA test and couldn’t leave a comment but we will try again! I look forward to THursdays because I have some time with my big brother – he might even make a quick visit during Summer Camp at Scouts!

      Love, Teddy

      Like

  3. What a delight your poems are Angel Sammykins. I’m happy your wi-fi is so heavenly so you can be with us always. I love the idea of doing exercises chasing butterflies. I have a lovely image, floating in my fuzzy morning head, of you bouncing around on the big green grass that dad keeps so nice. I really should try butterfly chasing too, my summer-butt is not getting small by itself, ha! Brother Teddy is sure a lucky kitty! So much love surrounds him xoxox Boom

    Like

  4. I am sure you will have a great time at camp Teddy and I know Angel Sammy will be with you to help. I love the poem from Angel Sammy, he is a wonderful poet and maybe someday you will be too. Cute photos of him hiding from the butterfly. I hope Phoebe doesn’t write a poem about me titled Idiot 🙂

    Like

  5. Sammy, another masterful poem from the bridge, and we loved seeing these photos of you. We are happy that you take the time from your busy duties at the RB to write a great poem for us every week. We are already feeling inspired by next weeks words. here’s a link to our poem, “The Heart of the Home”: http://thecatonmyhead.com/?p=26539
    Sending lots of love to you, Teddy, Mom Pam and Dad David.
    XOCK, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, angel Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth, Calista Jo and Cooper Murphy

    Like

    • I’m glad you liked Angel Sammy’s poem…..he looks forward to keeping in touch with all of us every week!!! We sure did love your poem today too……..Thursday is one of my most favorite days! 🙂

      Love, Teddy

      Like

  6. Butterfly tag sounds like such a fun game! Too bad none of the butterflies here wanted to play that game with Binga the other day… or maybe it was a good thing for them.

    Like

  7. Mee-you Angel Unccle Sammy that iss a pawtastick poe-em! Yur ritin skillss are furabuluss…..
    Hmm mee wood like to rite a poe-em as mee iss a bit rrusty….so here goess:

    “HEART”

    “Mee LadyMum has a BIG heart;
    mee new that frum thee start!
    Shee looked down at mee with love,
    mee could feel her frum above…
    Now wee are together each day,
    an with LadyMum mee will stay!
    Our heartss beet together
    fur efurr an efurr……”

    bye Siddhartha Henry =^,.^=

    Like

  8. That is a nice poem about the Butterfly games, Angel Sammy. Flynn used to tell me what fun it was too. I hope you are both playing it together now.
    Good luck at scout summer camp, Teddy.

    Like

    • There are a lot of butterflies and all manner of flying things at the Bridge I hear Miss Jackie……Sammy says he and your boys and Nellie and SO many other friends have lots of games they play in the beautiful green fields. I have some interest in butterflies but not YET as much as Sammy did…….I’m still just loving lying in the grass.

      Hugs, Teddy

      Like

    • Oh wow…nocturnal butterflies are amazing although we’ve never seen one here…..have seen them in the butterfly “house” at the zoo though. I jump up and PRETEND I’m trying to catch them but Angel Sammy says he always practiced “catch and release” so I’ll do the same!

      Love, Teddy

      Like

  9. dood…yur poem total lee rocked az all wayz N we loves yur butterfliez bush foto…ewe waz all most in camo flague 🙂 N ted o nator; we wanna say conga ratz on KNOT playin with BURD SKIN….way ta go N 984 paws UP !!

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    H haiku

    R heartz iz happee
    with hobby horse in de houz
    coz him doez knot eat

    dumb one thiz week we noe……….

    oh well ~~~~~~~

    happee fryday ♥♥♥

    Like

    • Hi Tabbies of TT! Oh I like your hobby house poem…..anything that doesn’t steal our foodables is a welcome house addition. I have tried to follow Angel Sammy’s advice to sit under the butterfly bush to wait for a passing butterfly but our butterfly bush isn’t BIG enough yet for me to sit under! I hope all of you have a fabulous week-o-end with lots of delish fish to nom on!

      Love and Butter Bean hugs, Teddy

      Like

Enlighten Me With Your Input!

