Fall Has Fallen and Mom is Filling In!

FALLBANNER

It’s Definitely Fall Now!

You know every year we kind of play hide and seek with Fall…………we get temps in the 80s out of nowhere then things settle back down into October-ish weather in the 50s and 60s…….well this morning when Mom and I went out for my morning cruise, she could see her breath!   She could see MY breath too!   And we could both see the breath of the two HUMONGOUS raccoons who were out in the backyard as well!

So Fall has fallen for sure………………….leaves are starting to fall too……………..not a whole lot yet but plenty.    Mom mowed the lawn two days ago and before she finished, there was a light coating of leaves on the lawn already.    When you are surrounded with big trees, that’s gonna happen of course!

Just a few bits of color here and there for now......

Just a few bits of color here and there for now……

My Mom and Dad love Fall…………….they like having fires in the fireplace again and cozy evenings……………I like that Mom has mums all over the front porch – I think they are pretty!!   I think I look pretty well sitting in the middle of them!

Sam enjoying the front porch on a pretty fall day

I like Mums!

Soon Mom will be decorating for Halloween……………..we already decorated my blog as you can tell – we use the MONSTER theme from WordPress every year around Halloween time but will change back to NORMAL after the spookies are gone!    Do you see Fall where you are or are you somewhere that you don’t get to see the leaves and other signs of Fall falling?

SAMFALL

Our housecleaning today is “all hands on deck”………….no cleaning service today – so we all pitched in to get the place ship shape for another week………………!

Mom made me help out!

Mom made me help out!

Cleaning day is definitely one day that I don't mind being hard of hearing!!!!!

Cleaning day is definitely one day that I don’t mind being hard of hearing!!!!!

 

NOW!   On to Friday Friendly Fill-Ins hosted by 15andmeowing AND McGuffy’s Reader!!     This week I decided to let my Mom do the “filling in”…………….wasn’t that nice of me?   If you wanna fill-in and share, just go to one of the blogs and use the linky tool to link your blog up…………….

FILLINS

Here are the sentences to “fill-in” Mom!

1. My favorite store is the craft store, Michaels – where I get all my art supplies!.
2. An unanswered prayer I am thankful for (this is impossible for me to fill-in as my prayers have almost always been answered and there hasn’t been one that went “unanswered” that was “important”.

3. At Halloween, I love seeing all the kids’ costumes – especially the really “little ones” !

4. I believe in the supernatural, because I know people who see spirits and who know what the future holds .

Well that was fun – thanks Mom – I had no idea how to answer most of those since I don’t shop, hide at Halloween, and my prayers have ALWAYS been answered – I’m living with you and Dad and that’s a BIGGIE!!!!!

HAPPY FALL !!!!  

Hugs, Sammy

For everyone in the path of the hurricane......

For everyone in the path of the hurricane……

67 thoughts on “Fall Has Fallen and Mom is Filling In!

  1. Hi Sammy, our Fall is just in the same position as yours. We have just now wind and leaves all flying aii over. You have racoons, we don’t have, but they are so cute. What do they eat, do you feed them.
    Have a colorful day!
    Kosmo,
    a cat in faraway Finland.

    Like

    • Raccoons love cat food and obviously the sunflower seeds that we have in the birdfeeders!!!! The ones we have around her are big and fat so SOMEONE must be feeding them well!!!! Enjoy your Fall – our leaves are just starting to turn and fall!

      love, Sammy

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mommy said there are a few fallen leaves here too ad the dogwood’s have their red berries. Their leaves are the first to turn around here.

    Like

  3. Hi Sammy,
    Fall isn’t here yet. We’ve had a few quite warm and muggut days. Not at all tou our liking. But a cold front is approaching, and then – hopefully – fall will arrive, too.
    Anyway, we hope to see some beautifukky turned leaves soon as on Monday we’re leaving for a road trip, which takes us up to southern Nebraska. We hope to do quite a bit of bicycling, plus – of course – sightseeing.
    I wish you a great weekend,
    Pit
    P.S.: Maybe you can play some with the fallen/falling leaves?

    Like

  4. I love the photo of you with the mums. Thank you for participating in the fill-ins, I always enjoy your answers. I wish I lived near you so your Mom and I could go to Michael’s together 🙂 ( and so I could meet you). Have a nice weekend! XO

    Like

  5. The leaves haven’t started to change yet and very few have fallen. The weather is very autumnal though, misty, cold and drizzly.

    Like

  6. Fall is definitely here with a few leaves changing and falling. Today, it is raining steadily and is supposed to last for two days. Mom had to write to Mom Ellen to find out what fill-in #2 was all about (some reference to a Garth Brooks song). She’s sure that she has had unanswered prayers, but cannot think of any that have adversely affected her or us. One prayer that has been answered is that Sharon, Bill and all the kitties are safe and that their area did not get a bad storm surge. Sending you all lots and lots of love. XOCK, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

    Like

    • Oh we too are SO grateful that Raz, Allie, Ellie and their parents are SAFE……..imagine though having the house right across the street burn down – happily they are alright……I know they can’t WAIT to get home though!!!

      Love, Sammy

      Like

  7. Purrfect description of fall playing hide and seek! You are such a smart man cat!
    No cleaning(since we got new carpet mom vacuums nearly everyday…WHY⁉️⁉️⁉️⁉️⁉️) here yet our neighbor’s dryer went to dryer heaven..she is coming here to dry clothes
    She is a nice lady and not as noisy as workers so that is fine by me.
    Hugs Madi

    Like

    • Nice of you and your Mom to let your neighbor use your dryer………!! Your Mom is just enjoying having that new carpet – she will quit vacuuming every day once the “NEW” wears off I bet!!

      Love, Sammy

      Like

  8. Our weather has been doing very much the same here, very warm days in the high 80’s and this morning it is a cool, gray 55. More hot on the way for next week. Growing up in South Dakota I love the memories of first seeing your frosty breath in the mornings! That doesn’t happen too often here in West Texas and we only have one little tree to signal Autumn.

    I love our Michael’s store too, I always find more things I “need” to buy that what I originally went shopping for! 🙂

    I agree that all our prayers are answered, just not always in the ways we wanted or understand. Sometimes the answer is “no” and sometimes we are given something even better if we are patient, that is the case with my Papa Bear! He was the best answer to prayer of all!

    I love the littlest ones dressed up for Halloween too. I remember how excited my children were as I sewed their costumes each year!

    I think there are too many examples of spirit activity for us to say they don’t exist. I know they do in this house and we always welcome their company because they have a peaceful feeling. Dark spirits are not welcome here, God is in control!

    Like

    • That’s the key Miss Josie……the bad spirits don’t have a chance when God is in control………..open minds and hearts invite good spirits as they have messages we usually need to hear. Halloween isn’t far away! I’m excited!

      Love, Sammy

      Like

    • Talk about a BIG temperature change! Yeah that’s how it usually is here too – – – lately though just cool temps and that’s got the leaves thinking it’s time to begin turning and falling – which of course means Dad’s checking out the leaf machine for the year……..this will be a big test of my hearing – will be the first year all that racket doesn’t even PHASE me!

      Love, Sammy

      Like

  9. It’s actually cool here this meownin’ too Sammy. Not cold enuff fur seein’ breaths, but cool. We hope ya’ll have a great weekend and enjoy those fires.

    Luv ya’

    Dezi and Raena

    Like

  10. Autumn was crisp this morning at our house too, Sammy. Like hovering around freezing crisp. But the sun is out and it’s one heck of a gorgeous day with bright blue skies. We love this time of year for that reason. Our thoughts and prayers go out to everyone in Florida and along the southern east coast. We hope everyone stays safe!🍂

    Like

  11. Out here in southern California, it only gets cold enough to see your breath in the winter. We know fall has arrived by smell… and it really is starting to smell like fall now!

    Like

  12. We don’t get a big fall here in California but we do love Halloween and the one tree with the leaves that fall
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  13. My prayers have all been answered, too, S. Finding the perfect family makes all other prayers fall right into place. Have a happy pumpkin season, buddy. *gulp*

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    Like

  14. Sammy, you are adorable sitting there on the porch with the flowers. 🙂 We don’t get fall down here on the Texas Gulf Coast. Though we had a couple of days of cooler weather, we’re back into the mid-to-upper 90s right now. Oh well, it was fun while it lasted. We don’t get the color changes in the leaves and that is one thing that we really miss. This was a great time of color change when we lived in South Carolina.

    We have a yard full of huge live oaks, a sycamore tree, and a pecan tree, and several crepe myrtles and some that I have no clue what they are. The leaves fall here in the spring. The new leaves push out the old ones. So, while everyone else has empty trees in the fall and early winter, we have them in late winter/early spring. We do have a tremendously long growing season here and that is great, except that I can’t get anything to grow. 🙂

    Michael’s is a great store. 🙂 I think the little ones dressed up trying to be spooky are adorable. 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

    Like

    • My Mom used to live in Florida and moved BACK to Virginia mostly because she missed the changing of the seasons and the leaves falling in Fall……..we have four seasons here and other than the fact I don’t like being COLD in winter because of my arthritis, I love all of the seasons!!!! I used to love playing in the piles of leaves when I was a kitten…….

      Hugs, Sammy

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Wee have had rain an wind an cloudss here all day Unccle Sammy! Thee outer edge of Hurrycane Matthew has come uppy to where wee live!!! It must bee a ginormuss storm!!!
    Mee been out inn Condo an fur a walk butt it iss so chilley mee came inn fur a while…..
    Autumm iss here fur sure Unccle!
    ***nose rubsss*** neffkitty Siddhartha Henry xxxx

    Like

  16. Fall is absolutely beautiful here right now! Our front yard is a gorgeous carpet of leaves (we hope some Halloween gremlins or something will come rake them up later), and the temperatures are cool and comfortable. We’re expecting our first hard freeze tomorrow night though….so I’ve got to get out there and harvest most of our herbs to save for the winter! We also love and have mums on our front steps. You make your Mom’s mums look even more beautiful, Sammy!

    Like

    • No hard freeze here yet but it won’t be long I bet. We have a lot of leaves down though so Dad will be getting the leaf monster out soon. Mums are such pretty plants and we’re far enough “south” that ours winter over and come back in Spring. HAPPY FALL!

      Love, Sammy

      Like

Enlighten Me With Your Input!

