Shopping Around The World!

Standard

SHOPPINGAROUNDTHEWORLD

Time to Shop for FOOD!

That’s right – it’s that day of the month for the Shopping Around the World post – a chance for us to share what stuff costs in our area of the universe…..a fun exercise hosted by our buds Fozziemum AND Bacon!

This month’s recipe is for a salad – any salad – and salads are PURRRRFECT meals in the summer when you don’t want some big old heavy meal in your tummy.    I’m not much of a salad guy but my parents enjoy a nice COOOOOL salad in summer.

One of Mom’s faves is a nice SIMPLE  shrimp salad………………….and when I say simple, I mean SIMPLE!

SHRIMPSALAD

Ingredients:

Package of cooked shrimp – 12 oz. $8.99 (remove shell from tails of course!)

One head romaine lettuce – torn into bite size pieces – $1.99

One chopped red bell pepper – $2.49 Each (yes that’s a lot for ONE bell pepper!!!!)

One stalk chopped celery – one bunch of celery $1.99

One chopped cucumber – $.50 each

Mayonnaise to hold it all together!  – 8 oz. jar Hellmann’s Mayo – $2.99

 

Yeah it’s pretty basic but it’s also pretty good (so says Mom)……………..it all gets mixed together in a bowl (except for the lettuce) and Mom adds just enough mayo to coat everything then dumps it on top of the lettuce……….the above recipe is enough for Mom and Dad.   I get a can of Fancy Feast Tuna BUT I also get THREE (yes THREE) of those delightful shrimp Mom has in the salad BEFORE they get mayonnaise on them…….I like mine PLAIN please!

Now we’re gonna visit

everyone else to see what

THEY’RE making in the kitchen today!

HAPPY SHOP TIL YOU DROP DAY

See you in the grocery store aisles!!

See you in the grocery store aisles!!

 

 

 

About onespoiledcat

We are Angel Sammy and Teddy......! When I went to the Rainbow Bridge in December 2016, my Mom and Dad adopted Teddy from the same shelter where they got me 17 years ago.......he's a cutie......I'm teaching him ALL I know. It's great that I can continue blogging from the Bridge - we have great wi-fi up here! Teddy and I will tell you all about our adventures together AND we have some fun blog features every week too. It's nice to meet you..........have fun with TWOSPOILEDCATS!

46 responses »

  1. I don’t eat seafood, but I am going to try this for my hubby, he would love it. You are so lucky that your Mom gives you some on the shrimps. I wonder what bacon wrapped shrimp would be like?

    Like

    • Oh poor you (!!!) – but nice that you might make it for your hubby! Bacon wrapped shrimp are DIVINE – Mom makes them under the broiler for an appetizer and BEFORE they go in the oven I get my three “unbroiled” shrimp!!!!!

      Love, Sammy

      Like

  2. Oh cousin. We are all sitting here licking our lips. It looks amazing yet simple enough that even my mom can make it – Snorts with piggy laughter. I’m so writing down the ingredients for mom. Thanks bud! XOXO – Bacon

    Like

  3. MMMMMM that shrimp salad lookss deevine! LadyMum wantss to know if wee can drop bye fur sup-purr tonite, mew mew mew…….
    Mee wood luv sum plain tasty shrimp fur sure!!!
    **nose bumpsss** Siddhartha Henry xxxx

    Like

    • We were SO happy to hear about the successful campaign AND that you would be doing the book Miss Layla! I’m doing a happy dance now! I’d love for you to do a Thoroughly Poetic Thursday poem for us every week! You can post it here in my comments OR on your blog then put the link to your blog HERE so we will all come by and read your work! You are masterful at putting thoughts into words so I know we’d ALL love your poetry……………..

      Love and Hugs, Sammy (and Pam too!)

      Like

  4. Oh MeOW Sammy, we was just gonna ask ifin you at least got a shrimpy. But you get 3. MeOW dat’s purretty pawsum. Bet’cha’ wish your mommy would make this every week huh?. Stay cool and have a pawsum day.

    Luv ya’

    Dezi and Raena

    Like

    • They sure did – actually we read quite a few GREAT recipes yesterday – salads are perfect in summer…..or any other time but especially for a LIGHT meal in the hot weather!

      Love, Sammy

      Like

  5. Hey Sammy!
    Wow, that sounds delish! I’m not a veggie guy, but the shrimp and mayo would be tasty. My mom is drooling all over my Mr. Dell. BOL/MOL. Hope you got a shrimp or two.
    Grr and Woof,
    Sarge, Police Commish

    Like

Enlighten Me With Your Input!

