Sneakin’ Up On Friday

Standard

One more day until we do the weekly bunny hunt………yeah – those pesky dust bunnies my Mom is determined to eradicate from my environs!   If you need a translation of that last sentence:  “Tomorrow is housecleaning day” ………HAHAHA

My thoughts on cleaning......

My thoughts on cleaning……

Meanwhile, there’s plenty of activity around here.   Mom is doing laundry and going shopping later and Dad is going to the airport to fly in the flying machine.  I’ve shown photos of his plane before but just in case you were under a rock when I did (!) here they are again!

Flyingsummer9

Dad putting the plane away in the hangar after flying

Flyingsummer1

TAKEOFF!

TAKEOFF!

A kind of interesting thing is going to happen around here soon – my Mom has a landscape architect coming to help us figure out what to do with our impossible back yard.   Whatever IS done, will take a while because my Mom and Dad will probably do it in stages…..this kinda stuff isn’t exactly cheap but when it’s done, I envision more of a “park” than a back yard.   Mom wants as little grass (even though there’s very little any way because it doesn’t grow well back there!) as possible and nice “pad” for the picnic table and grill……and maybe some paths and lots of shrubs.   When my Mom and Dad first  built the house and the lawn came in that first year it looked great but then erosion over the years really changed it – we’re on a hill so the backyard just goes downhill – fairly gently – but still rain runoff is a biggie.  We’ll see what the architect has in mind – his company will do whatever installation of plants is needed too.   Should be exciting AND I’ll get a brand new back yard out of the deal……cool huh?   I’ll keep you posted on the progress I promise.

Sam's backyard

The back yard USED to look like this with grass…..not anymore though!

Never a dull moment in THE HOUSE OF KIMMELL……………I pretty much see to that but now we have other things  that will keep us rollin’ !!

WOO HOO!

Happy Day Before Friday!

Hugs, Sammy

p.s.  A friendly reminder that if you’re a Kindle person,  my Mom’s book is on sale for NINETY-NINE cents – just use the link on my sidebar!  

“The Mystery of David’s Bridge” will be yours for CHEAP!

About onespoiledcat

We are Angel Sammy and Teddy......! When I went to the Rainbow Bridge in December 2016, my Mom and Dad adopted Teddy from the same shelter where they got me 17 years ago.......he's a cutie......I'm teaching him ALL I know. It's great that I can continue blogging from the Bridge - we have great wi-fi up here! Teddy and I will tell you all about our adventures together AND we have some fun blog features every week too. It's nice to meet you..........have fun with TWOSPOILEDCATS!

65 responses »

  1. aaaah I understand… your dad will look from the sky on your back yard to make sure the landscape guy is right, right? we asked such aguy too (it’s the sil of our neighbor) and he had pawsome ideas…. my mom jumped with joy… till he said: but you have to wait till fall to re-arrange your plants… ugggh :o(

    Like

    • Yes indeed, plant moving is best done in Fall but it’s hard to wait sometimes! My Mom has tried ignoring that advice with BAD results! My Dad is up in the sky now I think – he left early this morning to fly. I hope his arms don’t get tired of flapping in the breeze…….HAHAHA

      Love, Sammy

      Like

      • well Sammy what shall I say…. waiting is hard and to listen to someone who really knows it, is much harder… and so my momma started the project against all odds and ruined her bestest boxtree that way :o( Maybe your daddy takes the new teaser photo today? I say: maine usa :o)

        Like

        • HAHAHAHAHA……It probably would take my Dad about a week to fly from here to Maine…he’d have to stop every 200 miles for gasoline in that little plane…..HAHAHA Anyway, Mom is going to be patient and let those landscape people handle moving stuff and planting stuff……my parents’ backs can’t take it anymore!

          Hugs, Sammy

          Like

  2. Ooh, Sammy, Motor Mommy loves the idea of a landscape person designing your “new ” back yard! Maybe that will give her some ideas, and I’ll have something new to look at from my window seat…!?
    Enjoy your day!
    Love, Sundae

    Like

  3. SAMMY YOU KNOW I LOVE YOUR DAD’S FLYING MACHINE…IT HAS RED STRIPES!!! YAY FOR BRINGING IN THE PROFESSIONALS FOR THE YARD. YOUR PEEPS DON’T NEED TO BE DIGGING BIG HOLES
    HUGS MADI YOUR BFFF

    Like

    • My peeps definitely don’t need to be digging big holes! It will be fun seeing what the landscaping folks think of our horrid back yard though! Wish it looked like that old photo but alas NO! Red stripes – my Dad liked the “original” paint on the plane from the 50s too!

      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

  4. How nice of your Mom and Dad to fix up your yard for YOU!! That’s going to be great and you’ll get lots of snoopervising time in watching them work!!!

    The Florida Furkids

    ps – did you see my post today? ….Raz

    Like

    • I thought it was very nice of them…….I will REALLY love snoopervising the whole thing – the back of the couch overlooks the back yard so I have a GREAT spot!!!!

      Haven’t been to your bloggy yet Raz – heading there now!!!!

      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

  5. Hi Sammy,
    I hope you’ll get a great plan for your backyard – and then be able to remodel it. We did some planting a few days ago, but our back yard needs more reworking, especially after the loss of quite a few oaks to that dreaded oak wilt here. We have some problems with our grass there, too.
    Have a great day,
    Pit

    Like

      • Hi Sammy,
        Thanks for the compliment about our yard. We’ll try to keep the grass in most areas. But in some we’ll replace it. I don’t know with what yet. Soem sort of grind covwr, maybe.
        I hope your “garden renovation” will turn out nice.
        Have a great Memorial Day,
        Pit

        Like

  6. Squeals – I can’t wait to see your new backyard and the changes. We would have so much fun playing in it for sure cousin. Have an awesome day – just like YOU! XOXO – Bacon

    Like

  7. That new backyard sounds exciting, Sammy. My mom just downloaded your mom’s book. She has a three-night, overnight pet sitting gig coming up and plans to catch up on her reading. They don’t have television or internet!

    Like

  8. Sounds good about the park in the back yard! I so understand what you are talking about with the erosion. CH and I walked the front yard and couldn’t believe all the rocks and pebbles from erosion. The lawn is slowly sliding down the hill! It’s going to be fun and pretty… maybe a little noisy for a bit, Sammy. I could send Maniac Marv your way… LOL! Cracking.. myself.. up!

    Like

    • That’s so funny you said that about Maniac Marv………Mom thought the same thing when she and I were doing my blog for today……..that guy could make SHORT WORK of re-grading the back couldn’t he? HAHAHAHA Anyway, it will be interesting to see what the landscape architect comes up with. We’ll try to share his “drawing” and will keep everyone posted on whatever winds up being done. Mom’s gonna take some “before” photos in the next day or two so everyone can see just how ICKY it looks now.

      Hugs and love, Sammy

      Like

  9. Sammy, a new backyard to explore will be so much fun. Our mom is really interested to see what you do. Our backyard has been a long term project…thirty years in the making. XOCK, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

    Like

    • My Mom will take some good “before” and “during” pix………..it may take a while since they can’t afford to do a lot – maybe do it in stages. Will be fun to see what the guy who comes here next Friday recommends. We’re thinking NO grass and more like a “mini-park” with shrubs and paths….We USED to have a pretty back yard……not any more!

      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

  10. It sounds like they’re going to make it so that upkeep will be a lot of work. We don’t have grass-it won’t grow here without a LOT of precious water. We have Astroturf-batter up.

    Like

    • Actually it may be less work…..my parents have TRIED to grow grass back there for years with no luck so we’re thinking of “no grass” and lots of paths/shrubs…..we already have a lot of small trees and the woods around back. It will be fun to see what the guy recommends! We really do NOT want to use any water….might have to water in some new shrubbery but THAT’s THAT….no grass watering!

      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

  11. How awesome that your humans are getting the backyard a facelift! My human would LOVE to do that here, but at the moment there aren’t the funds for it.

    Like

    • I’m not sure just how much of whatever the architect recommends my parents will go along with – it will depend on the $$$ situation…..we may do it in “stages” !! At least it will keep me entertained for a while – watching all those little humans running around in the backyard!

      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

  12. When spring/summer comes around, there is so much to do. Dad told us we will be getting a new roof this year. That sucker costs plenty! I’d wait till it leaks. Dad says its been 25 years since the roof was put on and the time is up. I don’t know if we’ll get anymore done this year.
    You will have a new playground, out back Sammy. Lots of new smells and places to leave your mark.

    (((Shoko)))

    Like

    • New roof! EEEEK – that might mean a lot of noise around there for a while so you’d better get your earmuffs dusted off and ready to use Shoko! I should think a new roof will cost a pile – so will our landscaping – but we do what we need to do right?

      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

          • Well, the roof has never been replaced on this house and it was built in 1995 so I guess there is a little bit of wiggle room. However, the longer we wait the more expensive it will be…Dad has the job of finding 3 estimates. He’s pretty pokey so maybe in another 3 years he’ll get them all…just kidding.

            (((Shoko)))

            Like

  13. Your very own park in your very own backyard! That will be a blast, S. Good luck with it. I can’t wait to see the developments.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    Like

    • Hi Cupcake! It will be a SMALL park since the back yard is smaller than the front but it should be pretty nice – a good spot on a shady summer day…….I hope! Will keep you posted!

      Love, Sammy

      Like

  14. Well, if a landscape architect is what you need, Ciara and Lighting are up for hire – we are pretty good at excavation:)

    We bet your yard will turn out awesome.

    Woos – Ciara and Lightning

    Like

    • The back yard is actually pretty small and lotsa trees so we’re thinking of making it like a mini-park! Ciara and Lightning are probably EXCELLENT “diggers” !!!

      Love, Sammy

      Like

  15. Sammy, your dad’s flying machine almost looks like mine!! Except mine’s red all over!! Can’t wait for your new back yard. Perhaps the excavating will uncover some ancient treasures!! xx

    Like

    • Oh Austin! A red plane? I didn’t know you had one my friend………..I’m excited about the landscaping but it will probably be happening over time since it’s super expensive. Mom and Dad will do it in “bits and pieces”.

      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

  16. Landscaping is expensive, but I am sure you will all enjoy the added beauty. That is a nice plane, does your Mom ever fly with him? Please tell your Mom thank you for the wordpress image instructions, I am still trying.

    Like

    • Yes landscaping IS expensive so we’ll be doing whatever we do in “stages” ! Mom flies with Dad frequently – there’s only room for her and Dad squished in the front of the plane since it’s a small one. Please tell your Mom to let my Mom know what else she can do to help on the image thing for the blog……my Mom remembers figuring that out for herself too – there are “help” instructions available on WP but sometimes it’s easier to hear the instructions from someone who’s done it!

      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

  17. Wow Sammy dat be so cool. Weez’ll have to come ovew and have a backyawd pawrty when it’s all finished. And by da way, weez been finkin’ a lot ’bout maybe yous mommy and daddy kuld take da plane out fur a spin/fly duwin’ BlogPaws and head on ovrw to Nashville and meet evewypawdy. We wuld luv to meet you all. Hope you have a ppawsum day.

    Luv ya’

    Dezi and Lexi

    Like

    • If our plane was bigger I bet my Mom and Dad COULD fly it to Nashville – it would cost a lot in fuel and it would take FOREVER since it’s a tiny plane and has to stop often…………..AND there’s no room for luggage either!!! I’m just happy you’re able to go since you wanted to so badly!!!!

      Love, Sammy

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Mee-you Unccle Sammy yur day went w-a-y bettur than mine an LadyMum’ss. Mee will bloggie ’bout it Katurday…
    Say thee landscape idea soundss furabuluss….an you can snoopervize an assist thee werkmen!!!
    Hope yur Pappaw had fun flyin….
    ***paw patss*** Siddhartha Henry xxxxxxx

    Like

    • It is a small plane………Cessna150…….maybe one of the smallest not including ultralights and kit planes….but my Dad just LOVES it and my Mom loves riding in it too!!

      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

  19. That is a very handsome airplane and even more handsome pilot! 😀
    I am slowly getting rid of lawn too. I am across the road from Merri Creek Northcote (google and click images if you get time) We have a front garden which is full of Merri Creek flowers and shrubs which provide natural habitat. Then there is my tiny courtyard with plants just for me and the backyard is mainly trampoline for the gymnast! You will LOVE your new garden and yes landscaping is expensive but at least it is a “one off” expense and then you just enjoy it.
    (I wish money behaved more like the dust bunnies) ❤

    Like

    • Oh you are in a beautiful spot!!! Lucky you…….you’re right about the expense – it’s a one-time thing AND if my Mom and Dad ever do sell this house and move, the beautiful back yard will be a factor for someone else like it is for them. Getting rid of lawn is a grand idea……our front yard is almost ALL lawn but the backyard will easily slip into “park area” vs. lawn!!!!!!

      Love and Hugs, Sammy

      Liked by 1 person

Enlighten Me With Your Input!

