Monster Mash

Standard

MONSTERMASH

It’s monster day and when Mom was thinking about the fact that it was monster day, she remembered an old 1962 novelty song called “Monster Mash” that was super popular “way back when” – there was even a dance everyone did called the Monster Mash…………..humans are so weird aren’t they????  (hahahaha)

Anyway, we’re cleaning today so I probably will DREAM about helping out while snoring away in my basement.   Leave it to the humans to do the cleaning I say.  As soon as they’re done I’ll make sure and spread my floof and ginger hair everywhere again – I do what I can you know!   Besides, there may be some monsters (in the form of dust bunnies or other scary stuff) under the beds and I’m not in the mood for monsters today!

MONSTER2 MONSTER1

We had a SUPER windy day yesterday but my dear old Dad was still outside working in the yard while my Mom went to the dentist.   Dad had to “re-stack” the stacked stone garden wall around our front garden.  Every year the deer plod right through the garden and knock the walls down and every year my Dad re-stacks it………it’s a never-ending struggle!   Looks nice when it’s done though!

This is an old photo of the front garden after stuff has come up in it - just showing you the stacked stone wall.

This is an old photo of the front garden after stuff has come up in it – just showing you the stacked stone wall.

Mom is getting really ANXIOUS to start doing some planting but until the weather settles down we don’t dare do it……………….usually by now she’s got some stuff planted in the deck planters and she and Dad have mulched the planting beds but not this year………it’s been a real pain in the tushie trying to do anything outside……….maybe in the next couple of weeks.   Mom did get a couple of planters of yellow pansies which are hardy enough in case it goes to freezing at night (which it’s still doing once in a while) and they’re on our front porch but THAT’S THAT!    Even my two planters of catmint haven’t shown signs of life yet.   Mom watered them for the first time yesterday so who knows – purrrrhaps they’ll WAKE UP soon??

Hopefully Mom and Dad will be sitting in these on a warm day SOON!

Hopefully Mom and Dad will be sitting in these on a warm day SOON!

Speaking of waking – pardon me while I do anything BUT wake – I’m heading off for a pre-monster mash nap!

Hugs, Sammy

 

About onespoiledcat

We are Angel Sammy and Teddy......! When I went to the Rainbow Bridge in December 2016, my Mom and Dad adopted Teddy from the same shelter where they got me 17 years ago.......he's a cutie......I'm teaching him ALL I know. It's great that I can continue blogging from the Bridge - we have great wi-fi up here! Teddy and I will tell you all about our adventures together AND we have some fun blog features every week too. It's nice to meet you..........have fun with TWOSPOILEDCATS!

65 responses »

  1. oh time for your special protection suit huh? my mom pondered about planting yesterdy too as she visited the weed department of the supermarket… we think we rather wait a week or two till we buy plants… we got a snow+rain mix today …

    Like

    • Hi Easy! My Mom is like your Mom – not too anxious to throw money away on plants that may or may not get frozen over the next week or two until Spring is TRULY here. It’s not easy waiting though – she’s anxious to have some color other than BROWN around here…………..snow? You had snow? Well at least we haven’t had that in over a week!

      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

  2. The little stone wall is pretty, but gives Mom a backache thinking about caring for it. The yellow pansies must be the brightest spot around for now. Stay away from the monster and stay out of the wind, S. Sweet dreams.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    Like

    • Hi Cupcake! Mom has a little rolling garden stool so Dad used it while he worked on fixing the wall yesterday…..AND the best part about THAT garden (vs. the others in the yard) is it’s full of perennials so Mom doesn’t have to do a thing to it but enjoy it – no work (other than raking in the Spring)………cool huh? Are you ready for the Bunny to visit??????

      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

  3. Mum says it’s definitely still a bit iffy weatherwise for planting! Not that she does any herself. She can barely recognise a weed! MOL Thanks for the Monster Mash earworm 🙂 Happy Holiday, Sammy xx

    Like

  4. It’s going to be a busy weekend and those dust bunnies better watch out because the closet monster is going full force.
    Hope you have peaceful naps today.
    C S Charles

    Like

    • Hi Charles! Thanks for the WONDERFUL Easter card!! So sweet – I left you a message on Scouts too……..that poster you found makes a great luggage tag for Paris don’t you think? I’m hiding out in the basement and am READY for monster day around here………….go ahead Mom – go for it!

      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

  5. I work four days a week but my day off always falls on the slowest day of the week so I never know what day that will be but I do know that day is cleaning day. That day is also today and I will probably have that song stuck in my head while I’m cleaning.

    We don’t see many deer around here and none where we live so I would be happy to have some extra work in exchange for that pleasure. I also decided I was going to plant a garden this year but I waited too long and when I looked up what vegetables grow good in Florida I discovered that I was about a month late in getting started for most plants, so I guess it is wait till next year.

    Like

  6. Your front garden is very sweet Sam. CH spends lots of time re-stacking rock.. 😀 Super windy here NOW and we have a freeze warning for tonight so we will be covering things this evening. I am NOT doing any flowers this Spring/Summer because I bust my back planting them and then the deer eat them or the squirrels delight in rolling around in them and breaking them off. Just ferns this year and herbs!

    Like

    • You’re one smart cookie – Mom is sure everything she plants will be eaten but it will look nice for 24 hours anyway! HAHAHAHAHA Seriously though, she’s going to get some SHRUBS this year that flower and see if the deer might just not like them as much as the tender flowers……..it remains to be seen!

      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

  7. Mom’s been a gardening fool here the last few days. Cutting back, pulling weeds and getting ready for planting!!

    ICK on the Monsters!!! We’ve got lots of those cute dust bunnies here too 🙂

    The Florida Furkids

    Like

  8. Mom and Kelly got the straw bales started for the garden earlier this week. The bales will be ready to plant in a couple of weeks and then they’ll be hoping for no surprise freezes. We watched from the windows. Hope you get a beautiful, warm spring soon.

    Like

  9. Squeals – I ❤ that song cousin! It's great and you can dance to it – snorts. And hey, it's the way I'm feeling around my parts lately. Tell me this construction zone will be over soon. I really hope so. XOXO – Bacon

    Like

    • We’ll be at the Fish Fry – in fact since Raz will be late, I’m starting things up – I have some fresh live dead shrimp I’m gonna fry, a fresh caught salmon for an appetizer, and some cod filets……….we’ll have some fun!

      Hugs, Sam

      Like

  10. Hi Sammy,
    That front garden looks super! Here, I have to do much gardening this year as I was lazy last year. But we’ll try and make our garden look nice. Fortunately, most of the 3.5 acres are lawn. So I’ll just have to sit on the riding-mower for 5 hours. I like zooming around on that. 😉
    Happy Easter to y’alls,
    Pit

    Like

    • My Mom loves the riding lawn mower too although thank heavens it only takes her an hour to do our yard!!! Mom has let the gardens “slide” for a couple of years but she’s determined to have flowers this year!!

      Hugs, Sammy

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Oh my mom loved the monster mash and has found memories of it and the Purple People eater. I love your monsters running from the sucky monster.
    Hugs madi and Happy Friday

    Like

    • Memories…..lots of them…….Mom had kind of forgotten that the Monster Mash was just a “variation” of the Mashed Potato dance……….that got her thinking about all the other wacky dances of the time…..frug, watusi, stroll – and on and on and on!

      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

  12. Hey Sammy!
    Wow, my Mom knows that song and has it stuck in her head now! BOL/MOL Oh, she likes Purple People Eater too. Re-spreading our furs is part of our job, I think.
    Grr and Woof,
    Sarge, Police Commish

    Like

  13. We had two warm days and today it’s only 40 but; sunny. I got out the carpet cleaner today and Tubby didn’t like it. He arched his tail and hissed at it. LOL. Been trying to do some spring cleaning each day. Almost done. Got rid of lots of stuff too. Have a great weekend Sammy and Pam.
    Sue B

    Like

    • Hope you have a good weekend – spring cleaning is BEST done a little bit at a time we agree!!!! We have had rain all morning which is actually GOOD since my Dad fertilized the lawn yesterday!!!!

      Hugs, Sam

      Like

  14. My mum hasn’t started on her garden either yet. It is too cold and windy and the ground is wet and cold. Usually she is getting bedding plants out by now.
    She says she remembers the Monster Mash, it was a graveyard smash and she keeps singing it to me. MAKE HER STOP – PLEASE!!!!

    Like

  15. It’s way to cold here to plant stuff so we don’t think about it. Your yard is so beautiful Sammy. Mom and I have always loved it. Mom remembers the monster mash….she’s odd and remembers strange things…hehe

    Shoko

    Like

    • Yeah my Mom remembers all that old stuff too – interesting though to hear about the OLD DINOSAUR days! HAHAHA Glad you like my yard – eventually we hope it looks like that again – Spring is taking its’ time getting here though!

      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

  16. Mew-you Unccle Sammy mee LadyMum went to thee Dentist yesturday too…hmmm thiss iss innterestin mew mew mew…
    LadyMum chipped her molar butt her moe-lar iss ok as long as shee iss carefull 😉
    Wee not even thinkin of thee garden alltho’ LadyMum cleened up thee garbage left beehind now that thee snow has melted on our lawn & thee nayburrss. Shee told mee thee garden lookss turrible….
    Shee allso sighed deeplee…shee said without thee treess (there were treess??) thee place lookss barren…..
    Mee iss gonna join you fur a happy nappy ok Unccle??
    **paw kissess** Siddhartha Henry xxxx

    Like

    • Hi Siddhartha – there did used to be some nice trees out by your apartment BUT the silly peeps there whacked them all down – silly isn’t it? I’m sure your Ladymum will get a little garden going for you all soon….it will give you some pretty views out your patio doors and just WAIT until you can go outside in your catio and sun yourself!! NICE!!!

      Love and Hugs, Uncle Sam

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mee-you Unccle Sammy it sure seemss stewpid to take thee trees down…LadyMum sayss wee gonna bee too warm innside an outside…
        Mee not calm when mee out in condo…not so far…LadyMum iss wurried mee not going to adapt to it..
        It iss too cold again fur beein out anyway….mee will try to like it…
        LadyMum sayss thee garden iss purrty much dun fur good. Shee iss not strong enuff to ree-do it so mee not know what will happen….
        Hoppy Easter Unccle an yur Pawentss ❤ ❤
        ***nose bumpss*** Siddhartha Henry an LadyMum

        Like

  17. Sweet Sammy your plan sounds like a perfect one. Hope your mom’s trip to the dentist went well. Shame on the deer for leaving a mess for your dad to fix up every year. Mumsy is loving those rockers on the porch, she might just move hers out there and enjoy. Have fun spreading all those beautiful furs around after the monster leaves. Hugs and nose kisses

    Like

    • Mom’s dentist visit went grand thanks…..she was a little cranky because her gums were sore BUT then her teeth are CLEAN so that’s the whole point. The deer always mess up Dad’s stone wall but he’s good like Humpty Dumpty at getting it all back together again! Mom and Dad love to hang out on the front porch – they got the rockers from an Amish furniture shop!

      Hugs, Sammy

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Mom’s been working in her flower beds cleaning them up, but she won’t plant anything for another month at least. Those dust bunnies cracked us up! Dad calls them dust rhinos in our house ’cause with eight of us they can get pretty big. XOCK, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

    Like

    • HAHAHA! Love dust rhinos……my Mom says even with just me, our bunnies can be sizeable! Mom won’t plant anything for a while either but at least ONE of our planting beds is ready…..the others may get shrubs instead of flowers this year………easier to maintain and the deer may not devour them in spite of deer away spray!

      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

Enlighten Me With Your Input!

