Pre-Easter Excitement

Standard

FLOWERBANNER1Oh boy – the Easter Bunny is coming to my house – he’s never let me down in all my 15 years so I’m expecting him to show up on Sunday as always.   He brings me a basket – it’s a little one – “Sammysized” of course for ME.   Below are three of my past baskets!   But that’s not nearly as much fun as watching my Dad hunt for Easter eggs.   Tee Hee…………that’s right – Mom and Dad color Easter eggs every year and Mom hides them in the house for Dad to find.   Sometimes I cheat and show him where one of the eggs is (because I’ve followed Mom around when she’s hidden them!).    He calls me his “Bunny Buddy” because I help.

Sam's Easter Basket 2012

Easter Basket 2012

Easter Basket 2013

Easter Basket 2013

Easter Basket 2015

Easter Basket 2015

We think we’ll have a pretty day on Easter Sunday.   Mom and Dad will fix a big fat meal too – this year Dad won the right to choose Easter dinner and while we USUALLY have turkey, we’re having DUCK this year.  I wonder if I’ll like it?  I’ve never had it before – Dad loves duck – Mom does NOT so that means there will be a lot of it around here!!   I’m willing to give it a whirl!

OOPS - NOT THIS DUCK OF COURSE!

OOPS – NOT THIS DUCK OF COURSE!

We’ll also be hiding Easter eggs out in the yard for our neighbor’s little boys.   We did that last year – the plastic eggs with little goodies in side and one brother gets his hidden in our front yard and the other gets his hidden in the back yard and they see who can find all of theirs FIRST!

So see why I’m excited about Easter?   SO much going on…………….ducks, bunnies, eggs, baskets – and in the middle of all of that, Mom says we should remember what Easter is REALLY about.   Of course we will……….ALWAYS.

Love, Sambunny

SamBunnyEaster

 

71 responses »

    • Ham and lamb!!!! I kind of like ham but have never had lamb. They are too cute to eat……..wait – so are pigs and I love bacon – uhoh – I should rethink this shouldn’t I ???

      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

  1. Easter sounds like lots of fun at your house, Sammy! According to the notes I got from Sparkle, it’s usually kind of a non-event here. I think my human and her boyfriend should take some lessons from your humans! Plus, I want duck.

    Like

  2. That is a LOT of Easter-y fun, S. I think it’ll be a blast. There are new toys hidden in the closet for me. I watched Mom hide them in there. Now I just have to wait till it’s Easter….. Ugh! Is it time yet??

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    Like

  3. Yes, Easter is going to be a busy time at your house, Sammy! My pawrents are going for a family get-together that afternoon. Motor Mommy’s taking devilled eggs – unfortunately, nothing about those that I like!
    Love, Sundae

    Like

  4. Sammy I love how you 3 celebrate Easter!! Wonder if your peeps would like to adopt a 13 year? Your baskets are very pretty too!!

    Mom has a funny duck story. In 1999 Mom and Dad attended a conference in Prague. One evening the they went out to supper with a group. Mom ordered duck…just because she wanted to try it. Lo and behold when their food arrive mom had an entire duck on her plate. Dad and Mom’s boss were sitting closest to her they said the look on mom’s face was priceless. That was mom’s first and last duck!! Of course there were no pictures but Dad still has the picture in his mind’s eye.
    Hugs madi your bfff

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah I imagine the last thing she thought she’d get was the WHOLE thing including the head??? EEEEEK! I think if that had ever happened to my Dad he wouldn’t LOVE duck so much either! My Mom really doesn’t like it herself but she’s making it for my Dad…….he’s spoiled like me!

      Like

  5. Sammy…..what fun times you have at your house. I love that your mom and dad really get into celebrating. Looking forward to more Easter pictures.
    C S Charles

    Like

  6. Easter sounds egg-citing at your house…. Oooo that was awful, huh? But lots of egg hunting action going on! We are going to The Mama’s for a family Easter. I love the idea of a Sammysized Easter basket for you and I kinda want to giggle thinking of your Dad hunting Easter eggs in his jammies!
    CH mowed the lawn for the first time yesterday… Spring is here. Our mower guys don’t start mowing until May so CH thought he better mow or it was going to be a jungle out there! Tell your Mom to get ready to get on the lawn tractor!
    We have some big old rumbly thunderstorms right now with blustery Pooh-like winds… 😮

    Like

    • Easter egg-citement! HAR HAR! Yes it’s rather entertaining around here on Easter morning…..Dad stumbling around half awake looking for eggs – me trying to steer him in certain directions – eating blueberry pancakes and bacon for Easter breakfast……hiding eggs for the boys next door……and of course ME wearing my Eater scarf and sniffing my Easter basket!!!! No sign of lawn here yet – seriously – everything is still BROWN. Dad fertilized our BROWN grass yesterday so maybe that will encourage it. Mom is anxious to get the tractor out but mowing brown grass just isn’t as exciting as the green stuff!! Hope you and CH have fun at The Mama’s for Easter!!!!!

      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

  7. Squeals! The great Easter baskets – I love them. I can’t wait until Easter. I noticed the other day that my big bucket that the bun-bun uses is MIA. I hope bun-bun brings it back slap happy full of special treats. Happy hunting cousin! XOXO – Bacon

    Like

  8. Sammybunny, That really sounds like lots of activity. Isn’t it wonderful that we are going to have nice weather on Saturday and Sunday. Our Dad is always away on Easter weekend, so it will be quiet around here with no special nommy dinner. We’re hoping we will get some extra treats, though. You are the cutest bunny. XOCK, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

    Like

  9. What a great post! I want to see all of your past Easter photos. It sounds like your folks have a great day planned. We always have ham even though I don’t eat ham. I like everything that goes with it. 🙂

    Like

    • My Mom has a bit of a “problem” with ham (don’t ask) but sometimes she can eat a little bit before the “problem” occurs! No chances this year to find out – we’re having duck PERIOD (so says Dad). Mom will probably have all the “other stuff with it” but no duck for her………….

      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

  10. dood….sew…like…wearz de bacon feest for easturr….yea….KNOT BURD !!!!! 🙂
    way awesum oh yur mom & dad ta hide dino eggs & ta hide em for de naybor kidz two !!! total lee kewl ~~

    heerz two a happee easturr ~~~~~ dino eggz onlee ~~~~burd free kinda week oh end ♥♥♥

    Like

    • Hi Tabbies! Yeah I hear ya on the burd thing – Mom was thinking she’d make a ham (close to bacon right?) but Dad said he wanted Donald for dinner. Harumph! Oh well………..I’m with you though – who needs burd when you can have ham?!

      Happy Easter with lotsa tuna! (does the bunny deliver tuna too?)
      Hugs, Sammy

      Like

  11. Happy Easter Celebrations! Mes is excited this year as there is no snow! Wes does not get anything special, but Mommy and Daddy gets Easter Eggs (They LOVES Chocolate)
    Kisses
    Nellie

    Like

    • My Mom is a chocaholic too Nellie – I of course don’t get any BUT I do enjoy pushing a jelly bean around on the floor AND playing with my tiny little rabbit stuffie that Mom puts in my basket every year!

      Love, Sammy

      Like

  12. The Easter Bunny is very good to you every year Sammy. I don’t eat much human food but I do like a bit of duck. My mum cooks a leg of lamb at Easter and I like that too. I never used to eat any people food, but I have decided it’s not so bad after all in the last few months.

    Like

    • Know what Flynn? You and I should eat ANYTHING and EVERYTHING that we want to! We deserve it! I hope you have a wonderful Easter feast AND I’ll be sure and blog about what the Bunny brings me this year!

      Like

  13. It’s great to see you in the old Easter pictures, Sammy! You’re wearing a different neckerchief in each!! You have some great traditions going. Mum is laughing like a drain at the duck filled ani puss!!! Happy Easter, buddy!

    Like

    • We always get wacky here at Easter (well, come to think of it, we’re wacky a LOT)………I love my little Easter basket…..wonder what THE BUNNY will bring me this year!

      Hugs, Sam

      Like

  14. Sounds like you and your pawrents are going to have a blessed and fun filled Easter. Their front garden is lovely and I would love to have that front porch and rock away in Spring. Summer, and Fall! Have a wonderful Easter.

    Like

    • We hope our front garden looks like that soon – that’s a photo from a few years ago – I wanted to show the wall my Dad has to RE-BUILD every year thanks to the deer plowing through there!!!! Yes – we love being on our front porch – hopefully the weather will warm up and we can do that!

      Hugs, Sammy
      HAPPY EASTER!

      Like

  15. Wow Sammy weez always amazed at yous Easter baskets. Dat’s so cool. And dat’s very sweet of y’all to hide eggs fur da neighbors. And yet again, weez hope to see fotos of yous daddy huntin’ fur eggs. MOL

    Luv ya’

    Dezi and Lexi

    Like

Enlighten Me With Your Input!

