Sam’s Morning Routine

Standard
Sam Taking a Snooze on Mom's Bed

Had my breakfast,,,,now I wait for Mom to get out of the shower....then my day REALLY begins!!

Creature of habit?  Yeah, I guess I am.  Every morning for almost as long as I’ve lived here, I start my day off the SAME way.  Mom comes downstairs and I’m usually asleep on my window seat or I’m on the back of the couch looking out the big window watching for – whatever!   I get my first cuddle of the day, follow her into the kitchen and wait patiently or not so patiently (!) for my breakfast bowl to land on my eating mat.  Then of course the fresh bowl of water and while I eat, Mom gets the morning news.  I finish eating and pop up on her lap for my FIRST brush du jour (that’s fancy talk for “of the day”…!!) THEN Daddy eventually arrives downstairs after rousting himself out of bed and Mom and I head back upstairs. 

I help Mom make the bed (although she doesn’t seem to get that when I’m up on the unmade bed hiding under the sheets and flying around from pillow to pillow I’m “helping”) – and then she heads in to take her shower.  That’s my cue to do JUST what I’m doing in this photo…………have my first really good snooze of the day.

See, I don’t sleep at night.  After all, my job is to protect my family from intruders – invaders of our castle – uninvited company – things that go BUMP in the night……so I can’t hardly do that while sleeping now can I?????  So, I go from window to window, door to door, on all three floors of the house and patrol.  So by morning, when my parents can take over the awesome duty of “guardians of the castle” I’m exhausted.  Ready to relax and sleep.  If not in Mom’s lap, then on her bed. 

I just curl up my paws, close my golden eyes, let out a BIG sigh, and relax….. it’s not easy being in charge of this family but I take my job very seriously!!!

Happy Tuesday

Sammy

16 responses »

  1. You are such a good guard cat, Sammy! It is always a source of comfort to us that our furry guardians are looking out for us while we sleep! I am sure you richly deserve your rest in the morning. Your mommy is a lucky lady to have such a dedicated cat. Have a great day, and happy snoozing! (My dog-child seems to have the same routine, although she doesn’t roam at night – she prefers to sleep in her crate. She still goes to sleep as soon as she has greeted us, had breakfast, and gone outside.)

    Like

    • Hi Miss Linda! We dogs and cats love our routines that’s for sure. We like to take as good care of our humans as our humans take of us. Your doggie-child has a similar routine really as I do – greet/eat/out. 😉

      Happy Tuesday
      Kitty Hugs, Sam

      Like

  2. Good morning, Sammy! It does look like you’re having a good morning nap there… I usually take my first nap while my human showers, too. But my nap takes place on the edge of the tub – I think the moist heat is good for my coat…

    Routines are great, but doesn’t it seem like you should get a night off from guard duty every once in a while? Or maybe a night of spontaneous frolicking while the humans snooze??

    Like

    • Psssttt….Pedro….promise you won’t tell but I do manage to squeeze in a bit of frolicking during NIGHT PATROL….fortunately my parents are heavy sleepers and they don’t hear me thundering up and down the stairs, or tossing my toys around, or sliding around on my tissue collection in the living room. As for your coat maintenance routine I think it’s dandy that you take advantage of the steam in the bathroom while your human is showering – no wonder your cowcoat is so sleek and shiny!

      Sammy

      Like

  3. Routine is good. Keeping things in a neat and orderly way is good. Patrolling Kimmell household is extra good. Getting a much needed and desired cuddle of the day is good.So! All in all, I think you, Sammy, are good.

    Like

    • Well, thanks Uncle Jerry! BIG kitty hugs and kisses to you for saying so. I always say “it’s not easy being me” but the truth is – I’m one very lucky, very spoiled, very HAPPY dude!!

      Sammy

      Like

    • Hi Cody…..”ain’t it the truth!” about protection services provided to our families. It’s what we call a LABOR OF LOVE though isn’t it?! After all, they protect US and we do the same for them. Works for me – I just KNOW it also works for you buddy!

      Love, Sammy

      Like

  4. Hi, Sammy,
    Sorry to be late commenting today. I had to be on patrol here at home, because Motor Mommy had somewhere to be early this morning, and Motor Man went to work early.
    Sometimes I play during the night too, but I’m not too quiet about it. My mom and dad always hear me!
    Love, Sundae

    Like

    • Hi Sundae! I just bet if you avoided that crinkle bag of yours (or better yet move it to another location!!) your Motor Parents wouldn’t hear you playing all night….. 😉 When you get to be my age, you’ll settle down a bit…maybe…but always, always let your “inner kitten” out to play no matter WHAT time of day it may be.

      Love, Sammy 😉

      Like

  5. Sundae didn’t mention she took an extended nap this afternoon with Motor Mommy! She was being a good girl comforting her tired Mommy!
    JuneK

    Like

    • There’s something really extra swell about being INSIDE and enjoying the sunshine. I follow it all over the house, all day, every day until it disappears behind the trees for the day. Love the sun!!

      Kitty Hugs
      Sam (p.s. thanks for mentioning me and Mom in yesterday’s cartoon!!)

      Like

I wanna know what YOU've got to say!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.